Lockdown booze recipes

Toxxyc

Expert Member
Hi guys, so this thread is aimed for people to post recipes for others to make their own booze at home. The idea is not to get people drunk or stuff, per se, but I brew as a hobby and I find it insanely fascinating. I've also seen some recipes and stuff out there that doesn't really err on the side of caution, so I think it's best if I post my pleb knowledge a bit so people can just know a bit more about what they're making. So here goes.

I want to start off with a bit of background. I'm not a scientist, I'm not a bio-guy knowing everything about yeast, etc. etc. I'm a homebrewer, that's it. I'm not always right, and my opinions are my own, and can definitely be wrong as well. That being said, I've fermented a few hundred litres of pretty drinkable swill to date, so I am quite confident of my abilites in certain places. With that out of the way, the next thingamabob on the list.

Yeast
So what is yeast? In it's simplest sense, yeast is a type of fungus that eats sugar and poops carbon dioxide (CO2) and alcohol. That eating process is called "fermentation". You get different strains of yeast that will eat different kids of sugars and provide different kinds of flavours into whatever you are fermenting, depending on the yeast strain, the conditions you're providing for the yeast to live in, the temperature you're fermenting it at, the nutrients the yeast receive, etc. etc. Some yeasts prefer cooler temperatures to ferment in (like lager yeast strains) and others don't care (like Kveik types). Some yeast ferment clean (and provides very little flavour to the drink) and others provide strong flavours to your drinks (like your Belgian Ale strains, giving strong spices of clove, and banana).