Massive accusations in iBurst, ICASA battle

RichardG

Honorary Master
70 engineers working all weekend ??

Did they've necessary backup of each switc/router

This has been ongoing and WBS/iBurst have always denied it. Amazing how much spectrum they owned

Executive Member
This is the beginning of a long costly legal battle on both sides.

<sarcasm> Ah, TAX money well spent! </sarcasm>

RichardG

Honorary Master
Do you think cables weren't damaged or labelled?

I am not an expert or anything but I am sure in the real world you would need to have backup of each switch/router image in case mother nature actually causes harm example fire, weather, etc.

Maybe they needed 10 technicians at each site where they removed equipment.

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
They also caused serious damage at the company’s data centre, where they vandalized equipment, ripping off servers and router switches worth millions of Rands
Good thing we've got such a fine regulator supporting the development of our local ICT.

savage

Expert Member
The regulator is hardly to blame here. WBS was, and still is, in the wrong...

Why must everyone EXCEPT WBS pay license fees?

kripstoe

Expert Member
I don't know all the details of this case, but ICASA does seem like a bunch of thugs if they ripped equipment from the data center.

daveza

Honorary Master
I don't know all the details of this case, but ICASA does seem like a bunch of thugs if they ripped equipment from the data center.

I think we've only heard one side of this incident.

Perhaps the opportunity was given to iBurst to accompany the sheriff and disconnect their own equipment.....

I just can't see that a sheriff, who probably thinks a switch is for turning lights on, would even know how to disassemble a server rack.

I think iBurst are exaggerating x10.

kripstoe

Expert Member
I think we've only heard one side of this incident.