MDMA [does Connection Management & USSD & Monitors Signal Strength - Windows]

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,370
#23
I finally got hold of an E220 for testing purposes.

I have just uploaded a new version, see first post for details.
Major change is the program now supports the E220, fortunately there were only a couple of minor changes that had to be made, hopefully I have got them all.

Cellular broadcasts were received perfectly in 2G mode on the new E220, so I'm now pretty sure that they are working properly so those people who do not receive them must be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Getting some crazy junk back when sending USSD commands with firmware version 11.109.03.00.67. MTN_DD would you please check with Huawei the status of USSD support with the E220?
Update: Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.

I guess I can't call the program E620 Tool any more. Anyone have suggestions for a new name?
 
Last edited:

YelloFever

MTN Company Representative
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
4,569
#24
I finally got hold of an E220 for testing purposes.

I have just uploaded a new version, see first post for details.
Major change is the program now supports the E220, fortunately there were only a couple of minor changes that had to be made, hopefully I have got them all.

Cellular broadcasts were received perfectly in 2G mode on the new E220, so I'm now pretty sure that they are working properly so those people who do not receive them must be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Getting some crazy junk back when sending USSD commands with firmware version 11.109.03.00.67. MTN_DD would you please check with Huawei the status of USSD support with the E220?
Update: Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.

I guess I can't call the program E620 Tool any more. Anyone have suggestions for a new name?
Good day,

ginggs

I've emailed Gary from huawei and will keep you posted

MTNDD
 

sean12

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
306
#29
@Sselmrah and all the other testers, please let me know if you're receiving cell broadcasts or not, I am trying to determine whether I may have changed a setting on my data card while testing which enables me to receive them, that still needs to be done within e620 tool.

If your data card is stationary and you receive a strong signal from only one tower you might only receive a couple of cell broadcasts when your card first registers on the network and you may miss them while your computer is booting or before you've started the e620 tool. You can possibly induce the reception of these initial cell broadcasts by closing the e620 tool, ejecting your data card, re-inserting it and then starting the e620 tool immediately after you hear the sound indicating that the card has been detected.

Lastly, you cannot receive any cell broadcasts while in 3G mode, so for testing you could put your card into GPRS/EDGE Only mode temporarily.
Hi Ginggs

Last night I got 2 Cell Broadcasts from VM in GRPS/EDGE Only mode in Gardens. Nothing so far this morning.

I have not been in 3G MTN for a while because of the problems with 3G MTN in Cape Town.
 

MavChat

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
900
#31
Feedback on signal strength

Before connecting Yagi:
Signal: -91dBm 3G 35.4%

After Connecting Yagi:
Signal: -73dBm 3G 64.5%

I have tried turning the antenna but this is the best I got it.

GamCo test 1:
Your current bandwidth reading is:
368.70kbps

which means you can download at 46.09 KB/sec. from our servers.

Test 2:
Your current bandwidth reading is:
261.40kbps

which means you can download at 32.67 KB/sec. from our servers.

Test 3:
Your current bandwidth reading is:
389.10kbps

which means you can download at 48.64 KB/sec. from our servers.

The coverage above remained the same throughout the tests.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,370
#32
Last night I got 2 Cell Broadcasts from VM in GRPS/EDGE Only mode in Gardens.
Thanks sean12, that's good to hear, now I know there isn't any additional set up required to receive CBMs.
I have found some towers more "chatty" than others, I wonder why this is.
 

lilDeath

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
6,232
#36
Hey there, looks to be a nice tool ginggs. Congrats!! :)
I am hooked up with the E220 now (working well for the few minutes I've had it now :D, getting HSDPA too :p) and will be willing to test as well.
Will PM you my e-mail.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,370
#37
Hey there, looks to be a nice tool ginggs. Congrats!! :)
Thanks lilDeath!
I am hooked up with the E220 now (working well for the few minutes I've had it now :D, getting HSDPA too :p) and will be willing to test as well.
Will PM you my e-mail.
I have send you an email.

I would particularly like to hear from yourself and other E220 users as I only had a very brief chance to play with an E220, so I'm half expecting the bug reports to come flooding in. :eek:
 

YelloFever

MTN Company Representative
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
4,569
#38
Thanks lilDeath!

I have send you an email.

I would particularly like to hear from yourself and other E220 users as I only had a very brief chance to play with an E220, so I'm half expecting the bug reports to come flooding in. :eek:
:)
 

lilDeath

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
6,232
#39
Thanks lilDeath!

I have send you an email.

I would particularly like to hear from yourself and other E220 users as I only had a very brief chance to play with an E220, so I'm half expecting the bug reports to come flooding in. :eek:
Hi There,
I haven't received anything yet :(
When did you send it?

Will give as much feedback as I can when I get it ;)
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,370
#40
I just want to report I tried E620 Tool on Windows Vista today and it works perfectly, all I had to do was install the 2.0.3.0 drivers supplied by MTN_DD and set up a dial-up networking connection. Tested both an E620 and an E220 (See E220 on Vista workaround).

For those turned on by such things, here's a screenshot of E620 Tool in the Aero theme.

Going to go and format that drive now.
 
Last edited:
Top