Meaning/Nihilism in the service sector

Nicodeamus

Executive Member
The modern economy is becoming more and more service sector like. I used to deliver newspapers in school and now you get everything on the internet. My 2nd job was packing videos at Videorama, Netflix has replaced that.

In South Africa I used to work on a building site, building some cellphone towers around the country. I had a team with me, most of my job consisted in organizing and optimizing the building team. At times I did jump in and do the physical job myself. Now I fast forward to Europe. As a Civil Engineer, I have been only on the design side. I do complex Finite Element analysis for Nuclear Structures. It allows me to do complex simulations and evaluate safety aspects of the structure. The level of mathematics involved was beyond me when I got here. There is clearly a need for it and it is more efficient than just building a structure and hoping that it will stand. I went to Scotland a few months ago and saw an entire aggregate plant being run by drones and 1 guy. Clearly it is highly efficient.

Despite all this prosperity, I find that Engineers in this sector are not very very balanced. We are looking for something of substance as opposed to pushing paper around all day long. I feel at times that my job is losing its meaning and it is even worse for safety engineers, people who do studies on fire explosions etc. All of the optimizing is making us very nihilistic.

In the modern economy that is trending towards 'de-substansization', how are people going to find meaning? I would give anything at this stage to be working in my grandfather's garage repairing cars or in my father's factory doing carpentry.

My suspicious is that a lot of IT people often feel like this about coding or abstract ideas on computers.

Last edited:

Bobbin

Executive Member