Microsoft launches data centres in South Africa

Jamie McKane

MyBroadband Journalist
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
7,000
Microsoft launches data centres in South Africa

Microsoft South Africa announced that it has launched enterprise-grade data centres in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

At an event led by MD of Microsoft South Africa Lillian Barnard, the company stated that the opening of the data centres will help power the fourth industrial revolution.
 

MEIOT

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,853
Now the waiting game for when they allow us to move our current tenant data location to these new data centers.
 

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
98,682
I rate its open and online for Enterprise grade customers who have screamed loudly...

For the peons, it will be a while before it arrives.
 

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
25,318
here is an interesting question:
what happens if SA government decides to put in data privacy laws now, and say they need to pay extra taxes. for them to be allowed locally
I mean the data stored in these centers , technically leaves SA borders all the time,

or has our honorable leaders not understood fully what this entails yet?
 

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
98,682
here is an interesting question:
what happens if SA government decides to put in data privacy laws now, and say they need to pay extra taxes. for them to be allowed locally
I mean the data stored in these centers , technically leaves SA borders all the time,

or has our honorable leaders not understood fully what this entails yet?

How about this... we already have data privacy laws... and no the data stored in those centers doesn't technically leave the country all the time.
 

MEIOT

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
2,853
How about this... we already have data privacy laws... and no the data stored in those centers doesn't technically leave the country all the time.


I'm almost sure it does - with multi geo capability and geo redundancy
 

blunt

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
3,351
Anyone have some IP's of their CPT and JHB DC's? Would like to see the routing.

Wonder if they will host a speedtest node..
 

neoprema

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
5,667
I tried to spin up a machine now, no South Africa. Guess its only for some clients for now.
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
29,568
Anyone have some IP's of their CPT and JHB DC's? Would like to see the routing.

Wonder if they will host a speedtest node..
Isn't the CT one in Teraco? Think someone said they have a floor there.
 
Top