Mind the speed ISP

mjzar

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
585
I was curious...
They confirmed to me that there isn't a cost on Vumatel.
I presume as per contract they're entitled to recover charges for activating/migrating if you cancel within six months (usual clawback clause). They said the same in March

IMG_3890.PNG
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,825
I was curious...
They confirmed to me that there isn't a cost on Vumatel.
I presume as per contract they're entitled to recover charges for activating/migrating if you cancel within six months (usual clawback clause). They said the same in March

View attachment 1088583
Upgrades/downgrades are free on all isps however migrating from another isp attracts charges, if you read their response you see they only speak about upgrades/downgrades.
 

isie

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
12,556
I was curious...
They confirmed to me that there isn't a cost on Vumatel.
I presume as per contract they're entitled to recover charges for activating/migrating if you cancel within six months (usual clawback clause). They said the same in March

View attachment 1088583
you on MTS already so no cost to change packages- its moving from one ISP to another or first time joining there is an activation fee (not installation this is another fee as well) - this is what i'm referring to - its a cost from Vumatel levied on all ISP - they in turn absorb or pass on the cost to users - MTS never charged before may 2021
 
Last edited:

Slamz

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
901
I am currently on the 50/50 at R980pm. Might move down to R790pm, as paying for something I dont use is just a waste of money.
i'm doing exactly this... 20 extra makes no difference to my life, the savings can be useful
 

mjzar

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
585
Upgrades/downgrades are free on all isps however migrating from another isp attracts charges, if you read their response you see they only speak about upgrades/downgrades.
you on MTS already so no cost to change packages- its moving from one ISP to another or first time joining there is an activation fee (not installation this is another fee as well) - this is what i'm referring to - its a cost from Vumatel levied on all ISP - the yin turn absorb or pass on the cost to users - MTS never charged before may 2021
Understood :thumbsup: They didn't charge any activation when I signed up last year, they used to absorb the cost then
 

isie

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
12,556
Understood :thumbsup: They didn't charge any activation when I signed up last year, they used to absorb the cost then
yup - I been with them now over a year - and added a second account for my folks mid May - luckily I just missed the activation fee
 

R4m80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
318
Upgrades/downgrades are free on all isps however migrating from another isp attracts charges, if you read their response you see they only speak about upgrades/downgrades.
Not true. I wanted to downgrade my 100 mbps Openserve line and MTS told me that there would be a charge involved. That was after more than a year with them and being on a month to month. That's when I moved to CI.
 

isie

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
12,556
hi guys has vumatel confirmed this upgrade ?
my isp has not responded to this
thanks
Nothing from Vumatel as yet - and from what i can see seems the only ISP that has said anything so far is MTS
 

mjzar

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
585

mjzar

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
585
They've just sent an email. My connection is all fine though unaffected probably because I'm on what was SADV
chrome_6wiMHkZjs8.png
 

mjzar

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
585
What does the mail say.. My laptop is off lol
No detail to speak of.

Vumatel is experiencing an issue currently, we are aware and have reported it to their engineers to investigate.

We will update as soon as we receive feedback from them.

Kind regards,
Support @ Mind The Speed
 

Bl1zz4rd

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
650
Anyone in CT with MTS experiencing some international latency? I've got latency issues and packet loss in games. Lots of traceroutes timing out.
 
Top