MitchellsFibre (Vumatel)

alex augustus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
112
Power isn't off in Strandfontein though. I know upper part of Strandfontein was off earlier might that a power supply for fibre didn't come back on again.
Yeah power to the POP in Strandfontein could be off - this is the only logically issue I can think of.
 

alex augustus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
112
OK, issue has been resolved again.

The following Network Incident has been resolved.

Network Incident Reference: #2234
Network Incident Description: Power Failure
Area/s Affected: Strandfontein
Network Type Affected: Aerial
Current Resident Impact: Connectivity has restored
Current Network Incident Status: Power has restored.
 

CT_Red

Active Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
37
Does anyone else check their data usage like a hawk like me LOL my stats seem to be a bit skewed on Afrihost

I had issues last Sunday when my connection was off as well but in that time I managed to download 5gb+ according to Afrihost.

My usage for this month is around 130gb which I think is way over what I've actually used. On the client zone it estimates I'll download over 650gb for the month if I keep going the way I am. I've never hit this type of data usage.
 

alex augustus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
112
Anything we need to do on our side? Restart ONT?
Yeah if it doesn't come back online straight away, a reboot of the ONT should be the next step.

My fibre hasn't come back online as yet it so will be rebooting once I get home.
 

alex augustus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
112
Does anyone else check their data usage like a hawk like me LOL my stats seem to be a bit skewed on Afrihost

I had issues last Sunday when my connection was off as well but in that time I managed to download 5gb+ according to Afrihost.

My usage for this month is around 130gb which I think is way over what I've actually used. On the client zone it estimates I'll download over 650gb for the month if I keep going the way I am. I've never hit this type of data usage.
Yes I do as well, I also have a suspicion that data usage stats are off - I managed to hit 1TB last month even though my router displays usage at about 600/700GB.
 

CT_Red

Active Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
37
Yes I do as well, I also have a suspicion that data usage stats are off - I managed to hit 1TB last month even though my router displays usage at about 600/700GB.
When I questioned them about the fact that data is being used even though I'm offline they couldn't answer me ... told me to refresh the app which I did but still showed same stats. They had an uncapped leaderboard for ADSL back in the day ... maybe they running the same for fibre :unsure:
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
17,240
So I got this message on my phone last night after load shedding.

View attachment 779688

Is it normal ? is it a error due to Load shedding? or is it just coincidence that I receive it after Load shedding?
Anyone receive this recently? @AfriMan ?

When I get the OTP it just refreshes and asks for the activation again over and over
If the loadshedding goes on for a while, it may also affecting the normal mapping between the ONT device/Mac address and provider network. It shouldn't normally happen, but depends on the extent of the loadshedding.
 
Top