MitchellsFibre (Vumatel)

shubz

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2010
Messages
548
I kinda am, I have my router patched into the Hauwei ONT but my router ports are 10/100 so cannot confirm if the ONT has gig ports, I am actually too lazy to patch my PC directly into it right now to confirm :whistling:

Is there a problem with your setup? only issue I foresee is that you need the Gigabit capabilities for transferring data on your LAN at a "super" high speed, besides that since your internet breakout is 40/10mbps your PC cannot utilize its NIC link speed to the best of its abilities.

Unless ALL your PC's has 10/100 NICs which isn't common in this day or age.
was just wondering if I cant get gig speeds
 

AbuNetworkGuru

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
371
Hi thank you for the reply appreciate it, is there anyway to reinstate access to be able to login into my router again? Thank you again.
No unfortunately this was vuma's decision, they have all the right, so you may want to obtain a 3rd party router and hook it up to the ONT to manage your network traffic and to customize your connection
 

Brad1Eight7

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
3
No unfortunately this was vuma's decision, they have all the right, so you may want to obtain a 3rd party router and hook it up to the ONT to manage your network traffic and to customize your connection
Alright, bummer lol but thank you again I appreciate it, stay safe have a good day:)
 

nad_isa

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
613
No unfortunately this was vuma's decision, they have all the right, so you may want to obtain a 3rd party router and hook it up to the ONT to manage your network traffic and to customize your connection
Any suggestions on how to do this. Once I'm setup? As one cannot switch off dhcp etc?

Things like double NAT and no port forwarding would be a given then.
 

Jaseyyxx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
219
Yeah they did, and they trenched all the way down Morgenster road. They also phoned me saying that we can expect to be live in 6-8weeks.
 

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
21,282
No unfortunately this was vuma's decision, they have all the right, so you may want to obtain a 3rd party router and hook it up to the ONT to manage your network traffic and to customize your connection

This is some BS! If its not the ANC telling me how to live my life, now its Vumatel too? And I pay for it...
 

nad_isa

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
613
Uhm you paying to use the internet, the device is vumatels property, imagine you renting your car to me and im paying to drive it and i swop out your engine? Make sense

Or from another point of view I rented a cheap car but it can only go straight. All the other cars can turn. But it's cheap so who am I to say anything ;)
 

ShadleyP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
136
Anyone else getting really bad speed tonight Zone 4? I'm not even getting 1meg down.
 

alex augustus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
151
All good in my hood, zone 5.

Have you tried rebooting the ONT? And what does a trace indicate? Screenshot_2020-08-12-21-24-57-820_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpg
 
Last edited:

AbuNetworkGuru

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
371
Anyone else getting really bad speed tonight Zone 4? I'm not even getting 1meg down.
If you getting slow speeds you need to first conduct some basic troubleshooting

1) reboot all your hardware
2) isolate your ONT disconnect AP/boosters/extenders to determine if its your 3rd party devices causing the issue and turn off wifi from the button then run a test using 1 device over lan
3) if speeds are slow over ethernet try another ethernet cable
4) if speeds are still slow escalate to your isp
 
Top