More on SA cell towers

dotcat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
921
And band 20 has been disabled. They must have just enabled it for the holiday season.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,303
locking down of spectrum?
I mean they did release spectrum for Covid, maybe its time has come to lock it down

Yeah not sure but it's a real pity. It was a block of 10MHz spectrum on band 20 so coverage has increased quite a bit when they released that.
 

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
25,315
Yeah not sure but it's a real pity. It was a block of 10MHz spectrum on band 20 so coverage has increased quite a bit when they released that.
but isnt spectrum really expensive, and ICASA need it to make money from.
so they now have to go and lock down spectrum to at least recoup some of their investment?

or again, emergency allocation is finished, time to pay up.
 

dotcat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
921
Yeah not sure but it's a real pity. It was a block of 10MHz spectrum on band 20 so coverage has increased quite a bit when they released that.
And band 20 is back - with even more towers enabled!
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,303
And band 20 is back - with even more towers enabled!

Nice. I did not notice let me do some tests.

Last time it was able to aggregate with both band 1 and 3. I wonder if it will do 3ca. 1, 3 and 20.
 

dotcat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
921
Saw the technicians stripping the cell c equipment from the local MTN tower. The cables they cut up for scrap and the other network equipment looks super old so not sure where they will be able to sell it.

Now only has MTN and Voda antenna and equipment on it. Hope Telkom may take up the available spot.
 

Tector

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
640
I am seeing MTN 4CA inside my home in Somerset-West. 70mhz of bandwidth! 20mhz on band 3, 10mhz on band 1, 20mhz on band 41 and another 20mhz on band 41. Speed test not too great though, maybe still in process of activating? Or maybe poor signal. Will try and see if I can get this same combo with full signal
6a7a2f20e186ae80c3964d0488e5ea70.jpg
1f9770c79c520887d148c0dc2b5b9ef5.jpg
b6e4a9df82d224d892882fa7a76684ad.jpg
 

Tector

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
640
Getting this 2meters away from the 4CA spot. This is 3CA using 20mhz of band 3, 10mhz of band 1 and 5mhz of band 8. Huge difference
5c2426ead982f1a3728b8bd193b098bf.jpg
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,303
I am seeing MTN 4CA inside my home in Somerset-West. 70mhz of bandwidth! 20mhz on band 3, 10mhz on band 1, 20mhz on band 41 and another 20mhz on band 41. Speed test not too great though, maybe still in process of activating? Or maybe poor signal. Will try and see if I can get this same combo with full signal
6a7a2f20e186ae80c3964d0488e5ea70.jpg
1f9770c79c520887d148c0dc2b5b9ef5.jpg
b6e4a9df82d224d892882fa7a76684ad.jpg

What Samsung are you using?

Scratch that I see you are using a S21. Damn my S10 only does 3ca :confused:
 
Top