MWEB - 4Mbps Business Unshapped Uncapped HORRIBLE @ R2000pm

j@w

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
242
Condition
MWeb says my CISCO is sync`d at 4Mb/s

Negative
- When I'm lucky it spikes to ~1.3 Mb/s
- Speed test indicates ~2 Mb/s, but I never get that speed. (I received my M-Web router in the last week, of last month. The pratical throughput of 3.7mbps as norm was achieved but not constant)
- Constant speed of ~400-700 Kb/s down, doesn't matter from where I download or speed test or protocol used, FTP, HTTP, etc. Since 1st of May.

Positive
- Upstream speed seems fine, since it limits out at line speed of about ~500 Kb/s.

mwebjism.png


NOT WORTH R 2000pm!

Test conditions
IS Uncapped Business runs 4 Mb/s on the same line
Vodacom Uncapped Business runs 4Mb/s on the same line
3GB TelkomSA account runs 4 Mb/s on the same line
11GB WebAfrica Unshapped account runs 4 Mb/s on the same line
Speed test results on page 2 of this thread.
 
Last edited:

Tango

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Messages
693
If you are willing to pay R2K a month - take a look at some of the other business packages out there. Axxess amd Imagine come to mind....

Mweb is not the do all and end all mate....let your money do the talking!!
 

schumi

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
24,587
well he will be having a contract with them, you cant shift around easily, trouble shoot with them, you will most probably find the problem
 

howardb

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
3,446
That's pathetic speed for that money. I used to be on a 512 business package (about R2200 p/m) and was going to go with the M-web business when all the prices dropped in April, but a contact at my ISP advised me to stay away from M-web business, as there were too many issues - I went with a normal R499 4096 package for my business and it suits me fine for now! And I'm saving R1700+ per month now... :)

Personally, I would instruct them to cancel, throw their router back at them and go elsewhere, contract or not.
 

froot

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
11,347
You can do the following to hopefully find a solution....
Check on your router what speed your ADSL line syncs at...
Phone Telkom and ask for a port reset.
Use another router and ADSL account to check what your downspeed is.

It simply sounds like your line does not sync at 4Mb, which is by no means anyone's fault - Telkom only guarantees that your line will sync at 1Mbps or higher. Nowhere do they guarantee 4Mbps.
 

MWEB

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
349
Negative
- When I'm lucky it spikes to ~1.3 Mb/s
- Constant speed of ~400-700 Kb/s down, doesn't matter from where I download or speed test or protocol used, FTP, HTTP, etc.
Hi j@w,

Definately something amiss with your service. Please PM me any account identifiers so that I can ensure your issue is resolved.

MWB.
 

medicnick83

Paramedic
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
20,743
Wish more people would post stats like this... mine is coming!!!

Show everyone exactly how MWEB uncapped works! :mad:
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,607
Wish more people would post stats like this... mine is coming!!!

Show everyone exactly how MWEB uncapped works! :mad:

You seriously have a grudge against Mweb. If you complain about Mweb uncapped go use the IS Basic Uncapped account and then comment. You get 9kbs download speed during the day MAX!! And that is on everything even http.

Mweb is the FASTEST uncapped in this price range TRust me I've tested a bunch of them.
 

rward

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
862
Negative
- Mweb says my CISCO is sync`d at 4Mb/s
- When I'm lucky it spikes to ~1.3 Mb/s
- Constant speed of ~400-700 Kb/s down, doesn't matter from where I download or speed test or protocol used, FTP, HTTP, etc.

Positive
- Upstream speed seems fine, since it limits out at line speed of about ~500 Kb/s.

mwebjism.png


NOT WORTH R 2000pm!

This was all posted AFTER calling Telkom and Mweb support?
Right?
RIGHT??

My R50 says you never bothered but came here to bitch and look cool about dissing something.
If not, then I'm a dick and I apologise.
 

MFour

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
2,902
I had same problems (not using MWEB) but it has nothing to do with my ISP. All to do with Telkom's inability to provide capacity in my area, i.e. the exchange is over loaded.
 

Rikkelz

Active Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
81
I was amazed that MWEB forces you into a 12 month contract for this account - that's crazy for a consumer to do the way the ADSL market is right now. There doesn't seem to be a decent uncapped, unshaped 4Mbps business ADSL account out there at about R 2500.
 

ghambit

Active Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
44
You seriously have a grudge against Mweb. If you complain about Mweb uncapped go use the IS Basic Uncapped account and then comment. You get 9kbs download speed during the day MAX!! And that is on everything even http.

Mweb is the FASTEST uncapped in this price range TRust me I've tested a bunch of them.

Agreed! With all their ups and downs and shaping, they still outperform most other ISP's.
 

j@w

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
242
Hi

Phoned M-Web multiple times. Woman says it has something to do "with their line".
Telkom is fine since I know the techi in the area and he normally gives me heads up regarding problems.

Last month, I atleast touched max line speed ~3.7mbps now and again, but now I get 1/4.

I'm currently running:
IS Business 4Mbps : works 100%
Vodacom Business 4Mbps: works 100%
Mweb Business 4Mbps: works 30%
 

MWEB

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
349
Last month, I atleast touched max line speed ~3.7mbps now and again, but now I get 1/4.

I'm currently running:
IS Business 4Mbps : works 100%
Vodacom Business 4Mbps: works 100%
Mweb Business 4Mbps: works 30%
Hi j@w,

As mentioned above, please PM me so that I can assist in investigating your issues.

For reference, here are some tests on a MWEB Business ADSL 4096 in the last few min (JHB) ...

Tracing route to mybroadband.co.za [41.203.21.136]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms router.local [192.168.1.1]
2 15 ms 15 ms 14 ms tengig-0-0-0.vic-lns-2.mweb.co.za [196.22.189.12]
3 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms vl-92.vic-hscore-1.mweb.co.za [196.22.189.2]
4 41 ms 41 ms 45 ms tengig-0-0-0-0-11.vic-up-1.mweb.co.za [196.22.169.225]
5 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms rrba-ip-hsll-1-wan.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.25.8.249]
6 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.198]
7 16 ms 15 ms 16 ms 196.43.25.138
8 17 ms 16 ms 17 ms ge0-2.br1.jnb6.za.mtnbusiness.net [196.30.16.181]
9 17 ms 18 ms 17 ms ge11-0-0.gw2.jnb6.za.mtnbusiness.net [196.30.1.22]
10 17 ms 299 ms 17 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.za.mtnbusiness.net [196.30.156.136]
11 17 ms 17 ms 49 ms 196.30.213.108
12 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms firewall1.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.173]
13 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms mybroadband.co.za [41.203.21.136]


Speedtests ...

Local: http://www.speedtest.net/result/805730002.png

Intl: http://www.speedtest.net/result/805731151.png

MWB.
 

j@w

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
242
I already replied to a person that PMed me on Facebook call M. Goliath.

805823995.png

805825064.png


mybbtrace.png
(From STRAND, Cape Town)
 
Last edited:

texo

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
1,586
For reference, here are some tests on a MWEB Business ADSL 4096 in the last few min (JHB) ...

Tracing route to mybroadband.co.za [41.203.21.136]


Very interesting. Here's mine, from Cape Town. Not quite as good:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.2.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 27 ms 27 ms 27 ms tengig-0-0-0-101.vic-ipc-1.mweb.co.za [196.22.169.134]
4 28 ms 28 ms 28 ms vl-92.vic-hscore-2.mweb.co.za [196.22.189.3]
5 58 ms 50 ms 45 ms tengig-0-0-0-0-12.vic-up-1.mweb.co.za [196.22.169.241]
6 282 ms 282 ms 283 ms rrba-ip-hsll-1-wan.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.25.8.249]
7 402 ms 394 ms 397 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.198]
8 406 ms 405 ms 403 ms 196.43.25.138
9 408 ms 409 ms 415 ms ge0-2.br1.jnb6.za.mtnbusiness.net [196.30.16.181]
10 259 ms 259 ms 259 ms 196.30.1.21
11 256 ms 401 ms 255 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.za.mtnbusiness.net [196.30.156.136]
12 393 ms 401 ms 408 ms 196.30.213.108
13 409 ms 407 ms 407 ms firewall1.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.173]
14 408 ms 410 ms 408 ms mybroadband.co.za [41.203.21.136]

Trace complete.

Seems to be a major problem when we hit Telkom.
 

j@w

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
242
You can do the following to hopefully find a solution....
Check on your router what speed your ADSL line syncs at...
Phone Telkom and ask for a port reset.
Use another router and ADSL account to check what your downspeed is.

It simply sounds like your line does not sync at 4Mb, which is by no means anyone's fault - Telkom only guarantees that your line will sync at 1Mbps or higher. Nowhere do they guarantee 4Mbps.

This goes for you, as well as anyone else that decides to post on this thread.
ONLY POST IF YOU KNOW HOW BUSINESS ADSL PACKAGES WORK OR HAVE ONE OF YOUR OWN!
 

Tanya35

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
717
I had same problems (not using MWEB) but it has nothing to do with my ISP. All to do with Telkom's inability to provide capacity in my area, i.e. the exchange is over loaded.

I've been told that's very very unlikely. The demand for ADSL is not so high that they are running out of space.
 

MFour

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
2,902
I've been told that's very very unlikely. The demand for ADSL is not so high that they are running out of space.

Well I was told this by a Telkom Tech trying to get me sorted out...nothing he can do until Telkom upgrades capacity in my area.
 
Top