Nashua R139.00 "Deal"

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
Assuming - even though not specifically mentioned - that bridged mode is blocked there's nothing preventing you from using your own router is there?

I use my SMC router, RouteSentry and my Nashua account together with a Telkom account and it works fine.

Would ideally like to be able to make use of the wireless capabilities of the Billion though... sn3rd tried to talk me through connecting the SMC to the Billion but I only got it half working. Need to put some more effort into it I reckon.

The jackpot would be flashing that Nashua Billion, so if anyone knows how or has a dodgy contact who will do it please let me know!
 

sn3rd

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
4,305
I like the nerdy look that the multiple routers and cables has brought to my living room :p
 

sn3rd

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
4,305
I use my SMC router, RouteSentry and my Nashua account together with a Telkom account and it works fine.

Would ideally like to be able to make use of the wireless capabilities of the Billion though... sn3rd tried to talk me through connecting the SMC to the Billion but I only got it half working. Need to put some more effort into it I reckon.

The jackpot would be flashing that Nashua Billion, so if anyone knows how or has a dodgy contact who will do it please let me know!

Did you have a look at my last post in the Outlook thread?
 

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
Did you have a look at my last post in the Outlook thread?

Just saw it now.... thanks sn3rd. A little busy at the moment but I will try those suggestions in the next few days and report back. For now I have resorted to plugging the cable back into the SMC and plugging it straight into my laptop. When I get time I'll fiddle again.

Thanks.
 

sn3rd

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
4,305
Just saw it now.... thanks sn3rd. A little busy at the moment but I will try those suggestions in the next few days and report back. For now I have resorted to plugging the cable back into the SMC and plugging it straight into my laptop. When I get time I'll fiddle again.

Thanks.

Lol. Good luck
 

"D"

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
4,272
Shaped/Unshaped

Daveogg, who told you that it's R95/GB for shaped?

AFAIK it's R95 for an extra GB (or R250 for an extra 3GB) of unshaped on the Verizon Business backbone, and they offer P2P protocol support.

BTW: Nashua advertised that if you bring them a quotation of the same deal at a better price elsewhere, that they will beat that price.
 

Ekhaatvensters

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
7,247
I was also pretty sure that you get unshaped bandwidth from Nashua Mobile. It is all they sell afaik.

R95/GB isn't too bad, but of course most people don't really want to pay the price premium for unshaped, we should just get rid of the distiction already. Good to see that Neotel didn't even talk about shaping, and if that other news is to be believed then even Telkom are going to start unshaping some of the time. :p
 

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,971
Assuming - even though not specifically mentioned - that bridged mode is blocked there's nothing preventing you from using your own router is there?

Yea bridge and half bridge no longer are an option.

In this particular case this router is for a friend. When she contacted Nashua they said the process of applying for the contract etc could take up to a month, so i bought a 2nd hand router on the classifieds so will put fancy billion into the cupboard and await someone clever working out how to flash it. For now will use the microcom and once the Nashua gig is used switch over to WA.
 

Yotch

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
3,198
@Daveogg: It might be very difficult to replace the firmware. You could look over here to see what others have tried on some Thomson routers. It's quite likely that you may brick the router though.
http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t25428.html?

A safer approach might be to investigate whether or not you can modify any of the router settings via SNMP (Configuration -> Advanced -> Device Management -> Enable SNMP, Read/Write Access Rights).

Obtaining passwords and ISP information via SNMP
http://unix.derkeiler.com/Mailing-Lists/FreeBSD/isp/2004-05/0061.html
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/03/05/snmp_vuln_scan/comments/

Getif - apparently works with Billion routers
http://www.wtcs.org/snmp4tpc/getif.htm
SNMP test software
http://www.programurl.com/snmptest.htm
Free SNMP
http://www.nsauditor.com/network_tools/snmp_mib_browser.html
BPSNMP Utility
http://www.bpsoftware.com/products/BPSNMPUtil/
The software mentioned in this link appears to be much larger and more complex
http://www.geekball.net/linksys/LinksysSNMP.html

The 7300G also has a few hidden menus such as the one below to increase the wireless power. Maybe you can find some others that might be useful ...
http://192.168.1.254/wireless_txpower.asp
 
Last edited:

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
@Daveogg: It might be very difficult to replace the firmware. You could look over here to see what others have tried on some Thomson routers. It's quite likely that you may brick the router though.
http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/t25428.html?

A safer approach might be to investigate whether or not you can modify any of the router settings via SNMP (Configuration -> Advanced -> Device Management -> Enable SNMP, Read/Write Access Rights).

Obtaining passwords and ISP information via SNMP
http://unix.derkeiler.com/Mailing-Lists/FreeBSD/isp/2004-05/0061.html
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/03/05/snmp_vuln_scan/comments/

Getif - apparently works with Billion routers
http://www.wtcs.org/snmp4tpc/getif.htm
SNMP test software
http://www.programurl.com/snmptest.htm
Free SNMP
http://www.nsauditor.com/network_tools/snmp_mib_browser.html
BPSNMP Utility
http://www.bpsoftware.com/products/BPSNMPUtil/
The software mentioned in this link appears to be much larger and more complex
http://www.geekball.net/linksys/LinksysSNMP.html

The 7300G also has a few hidden menus such as the one below to increase the wireless power. Maybe you can find some others that might be useful ...
http://192.168.1.254/wireless_txpower.asp

This is all way too complicated for me, but if someone manages to work something out please let me know. Thanks...
 

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,971
@ Yotch, thanks for those ideas and links. I will have a look and see if i can find anything hidden.

@ D you are right i just assumed it was shaped.
 

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
This thread might be dead, but I thought I'd mention I managed to flash my Billion 7300G from NashuaMobile with the latest firmware from billion.com.au without any problems. I'm splitting local and international traffic using PPPoE relay too.

Not sure what everyone's carrying on about? If you're really keen, you can download the firmware source and flash your router with custom firmware even.
 

Yotch

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
3,198
@JohnsonCT: If this is true then there will be some very happy NM customers! Maybe they have been trying to install a different firmware release. Can you post a link to the firmware that you have installed successfully?
 
Last edited:

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,971
This thread might be dead, but I thought I'd mention I managed to flash my Billion 7300G from NashuaMobile with the latest firmware from billion.com.au without any problems. I'm splitting local and international traffic using PPPoE relay too.

Not sure what everyone's carrying on about? If you're really keen, you can download the firmware source and flash your router with custom firmware even.

Interesting I tried flashing with this firmware and got an error along the lines of " wrong product version".

http://www.billionsa.com/support/download/fd/7300G/7300GA-V1.32-b_sso.zip

Could you link the firmware you managed to get working please.
 

kayvee

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
3,532
Copiers, yeah, although I would bet there are some horror stories out there too on this one. They make dodge cellphone "service" providers, I can vouch for that :mad:
 

Ghost02

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
3,495
If I get this R139 deal what extra cap can I get for R110 ? If it'll work. . .
 

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
Copiers, yeah, although I would bet there are some horror stories out there too on this one. They make dodge cellphone "service" providers, I can vouch for that :mad:

Just to provide balance on this forum, I have been with them ever since I managed to get a Samsung D900 from them on a Weekender package for R69 per month and have been nothing but happy. Over three years now. Even when my recently acquired N95, which was acquired as a gift not from them, had a faulty LCD it was replaced by them free of charge, no questions asked!!

I still reckon it boils down to the client's attitude as to what service you get....

This thread might be dead, but I thought I'd mention I managed to flash my Billion 7300G from NashuaMobile with the latest firmware from billion.com.au without any problems. I'm splitting local and international traffic using PPPoE relay too.

Not sure what everyone's carrying on about? If you're really keen, you can download the firmware source and flash your router with custom firmware even.


Anyone else tried this and got it to work? Sorry to be sceptical Johnson but I tend to be weary of anyone posting something which could result in me having a brick when they only have two posts on what is a public forum.
 

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
Anyone else tried this and got it to work? Sorry to be sceptical Johnson but I tend to be weary of anyone posting something which could result in me having a brick when they only have two posts on what is a public forum.

It's pretty much impossible to brick the Billion 7300, since it's got an emergency recovery option that enables uploading a working firmware via the web interface. Don't take my word for it, RTFM (page 9). ;)
 
Top