Nashua R139.00 "Deal"

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,972
Hey tried the telnet method this is what it returned:

Copyright (c) 2001 - 2004 ADSL Company
home.gateway>wan proto pppoe userpass ****@wadsl a********y
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_mangle.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_filter.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_DSCP.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_ECN.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_IMQ.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_MARK.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_TOS.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_REJECT.o
bridge brwan doesn't exist!
verror_msgCould not kill pid '102': No such process
SIOCDELRT: No such process
device nas0 is not a slave of br0
home.gateway>

Guess this means its not gonna work??
 

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
Hey tried the telnet method this is what it returned:

Copyright (c) 2001 - 2004 ADSL Company
home.gateway>wan proto pppoe userpass ****@wadsl a********y
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_mangle.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_filter.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_DSCP.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_ECN.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_IMQ.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_MARK.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_TOS.o
Using /lib/modules/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_REJECT.o
bridge brwan doesn't exist!
verror_msgCould not kill pid '102': No such process
SIOCDELRT: No such process
device nas0 is not a slave of br0
home.gateway>

Guess this means its not gonna work??

I got similar output from my unlocked router, but it still worked. Check the username and password via the web iinterface after you've done this to see if there is a change. Otherwise, try find a website that returns your hostname or IP address to check if it is from the new ISP.
 

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,972
I got similar output from my unlocked router, but it still worked. Check the username and password via the web iinterface after you've done this to see if there is a change. Otherwise, try find a website that returns your hostname or IP address to check if it is from the new ISP.

Johnson you genius. As you suggest despite the debug info I am now connected to web africa on my "Nashua" router. On the web interface the username is now blank, but my ip changed and webafrica is showing two concurrent connections.

Can anyone write a script that can execute this on a double click? My programming skills are non existant.
 

Rocket-Boy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
10,130
Does that default version of busybox support shell scripting?
And if it does then does it have an editor installed like *vomit* vi or something similar?
If it has those then yes it would be super easy to write a script to do so.
 

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
Johnson you genius. As you suggest despite the debug info I am now connected to web africa on my "Nashua" router. On the web interface the username is now blank, but my ip changed and webafrica is showing two concurrent connections.

Can anyone write a script that can execute this on a double click? My programming skills are non existant.

Awesome! :D So despite their best efforts, the Billion 7300G isn't really locked after all.

I'll try whip up a program to do this for windows when I have some spare time.

If anyone can successfully dump the locked firmware, then we could go about fixing the problem at its source. Since the source code is available, a new unlocked firmware can be compiled with the same version information as the locked firmware so that it isn't rejected. Some help here would be great. Yotch?
 

Shahbanue

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
47
Awesome! :D So despite their best efforts, the Billion 7300G isn't really locked after all.

I'll try whip up a program to do this for windows when I have some spare time.

If anyone can successfully dump the locked firmware, then we could go about fixing the problem at its source. Since the source code is available, a new unlocked firmware can be compiled with the same version information as the locked firmware so that it isn't rejected. Some help here would be great. Yotch?

It would be very cool if some genius could also do the same for the Mweb locked 7401VGP router
 

zek 2371

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
101
Let me add my twobits to this whole "locked" modem saga. I got my modem about two weeks ago. I had endless problems connecting to the web. Everytime they had to reset a DNS setting on their server in order for me to surf. From Thursday 29 May to Monday 2 June they had DNS server problems which meant that I could not use about 186Mb of my cap. After screaming and ranting, including contacting their Ops manager here in CT, I managed to get a credit for my account of last month.

After reading a thread on the forum about the modems being locked I started yelling about the fact that nowhere in any of their ads or the contract does it state that the modems are locked. I was told by two different people from the call centre that the modems are locked but that I could take my modem (Billion 7300G) to the nearest Nashua Mobile shop where they can unlock it. I did this only to discover that the shop staff knew absolutely nothing about this and after further investigation on their part, it was confirmed that the modems are locked until your twelve month contract expires, when presumably you will then be able to request to have it unlocked. The message from Nashua Mobile is very clear - they could unlock your modem, but they are not willing to do so. You are welcome to try and unlock it yourself, but that would probably void your warranty. End result - after having used their services for about two weeks, I fully intend to cancel my contract with them.
 
Last edited:

Yotch

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
3,198
@JohnsonCT: Well done on the progress so far. Unfortunately I don't have a locked NM router myself. This observation might help?

If you investigate the different firmware versions with a Hex editor you can find the firmware version number at the start of the file. You could look for the current version of the locked firmware on the Status Menu under Software Version of the locked Nashua Billion 7300G and then change the version number in the closest unlocked firmware using a Hex editor. I am not sure yet what the function is of the hex strings ec 2d 75, b9 88 cf and 95 ad 8f (maybe a checksum?) (73 73 6f represents sso). Possibly the correct value could be obtained by trial and error or by looking at how it is calculated in the source code? Hopefully it might then be possible to get the router to accept the unlocked firmware. Maybe as you suggested above you could just try to rebuild the firmware from the source using the modified version number?

PCRange-7300GA-V1.36-698-80.3_sso_billion.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 36 2d 36 39 38 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f ec 2d 75 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.36-698Fabcde1234567890 etc.

PCRange-7300GA-V1.35-689-80.3_sso_billion.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 35 2d 36 38 39 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f b9 88 cf 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.35-689Fabcde1234567890 etc.

Nology-7300GA-V1.32-b_sso_billionsa.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 32 2d 62 00 ff 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f 95 ad 8f 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.32-b..Fabcde1234567890 etc.
 
Last edited:

Franckwithak

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
122
@JohnsonCT: Well done on the progress so far. Unfortunately I don't have a locked NM router myself. This observation might help?

If you investigate the different firmware versions with a Hex editor you can find the firmware version number at the start of the file. You could look for the current version of the locked firmware on the Status Menu under Software Version of the locked Nashua Billion 7300G and then change the version number in the closest unlocked firmware using a Hex editor. I am not sure yet what the function is of the hex strings ec 2d 75, b9 88 cf and 95 ad 8f (maybe a checksum?) (73 73 6f represents sso). Possibly the correct value could be obtained by trial and error or by looking at how it is calculated in the source code? Hopefully it might then be possible to get the router to accept the unlocked firmware. Maybe as you suggested above you could just try to rebuild the firmware from the source using the modified version number?

PCRange-7300GA-V1.36-698-80.3_sso_billion.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 36 2d 36 39 38 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f ec 2d 75 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.36-698Fabcde1234567890 etc.

PCRange-7300GA-V1.35-689-80.3_sso_billion.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 35 2d 36 38 39 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f b9 88 cf 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.35-689Fabcde1234567890 etc.

Nology-7300GA-V1.32-b_sso_billionsa.afw (first few characters)
Hex
31 2e 33 32 2d 62 00 ff 46 61 62 63 64 65 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 30 1f 95 ad 8f 00 11 00 00 73 73 6f 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
Ascii
1.32-b..Fabcde1234567890 etc.

If I do this what are the chances that I'm going to brick my router by trying this??
 

Amida

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
1,318
If I do this what are the chances that I'm going to brick my router by trying this??

Careful guys just bricked my router trying this.

Great now I have to take it back to Nashua, hope they don't void my warranty.
 

Rocket-Boy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
10,130
Hahahahah!!!!
Sorry to laugh but from personal experience I find that funny after having done it myself with other stuff at some stage.
Having said that, no router is ever bricked.
All you need to do is a find an image and use TFTP to reflash the bugger.
That might prove to be difficult if you havnt done it before but its doable.
 

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
Careful guys just bricked my router trying this.

What did you do to "brick" your router?

If you read the rest of this thread, you will see that the Billion routers are pretty much impossible to brick. There is a recovery option if you hold the reset button in while you turn it on. RTFM.
 
Last edited:

Yotch

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
3,198
@Amida: Really sorry to hear about your router! Have you tried the reset button as suggested above? Let us know what happens.

What changes did you make to the firmware that caused the router to hang? What version number did you apply to which unlocked firmware?
 

waheed.mia

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
25
Final simple solution?

Hi guys, been following this thread, as i have the R139 deal, and am happy to purchase more Bandwidth from Nashua @ R95 for 1 gig, but according to the website the bandwidth would expire that month. So Say you have nothing left on the say the 28th....you have to use up your xtra purchased bandwidth before the end of that month NOW that really sucks.

:mad: Nashua is really starting to get on my nerves It took my 2 months to get connected with them....

So have we confirmed the telnet option to change isp Usernames and pass always works???
 

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
I'm also awaiting a solution... until then I am using my old SMC router and switching to my Telkom account when my Nashua is used up and then when that is finished using my non expiring Axxess...
 

Daveogg

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
1,972
Lance did you look back a few pages. The telnet method works to change the username and password. I am trying to write a script to automate the process - almost their. I can email it to you once done. Then you will be able to change username and pass simply by clicking on an icon.
 

LancelotSA

Banned
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,713
Lance did you look back a few pages. The telnet method works to change the username and password. I am trying to write a script to automate the process - almost their. I can email it to you once done. Then you will be able to change username and pass simply by clicking on an icon.

Dave, I just realised I have obviously missed a few posts on this thread and just read them now.

May I ask where this script will change the username? Is it on the router itself? Will we still not be able to put the Billion into bridged mode, as I currently do that with my SMC and then use RouteSentry to dial up my two connections?

Any scripts or information will be much appreciated as the Billion is currently sitting gathering dust.

Another positive from the above posts is mention of Nashua being happy to unlock the router after 12 months, so at least in 9 months at least I will have a useful wifi router! :)
 
Top