.Net possibilities and general life in Durban

Neville

Hi all

I'm considering moving from Cape Town to Durban for various reasons. I'm a developer with 20 years experience and although most people of that calibre end up in management, I still prefer to keep my hands dirty with coding :)
Started and mainframe Cobol, Natural/Adabas many years ago but have been doing desktop and web dev mostly in the Microsoft stack for the last 10 years plus.

1. How is the work front look like for .Net devs in Durban?
2. How is life in Durban in general? I.e. cost of living, housing (I'll be renting), traffic, crime...?
3. Where do people live in Durban? I'm guessing much like CPT and JHB people often live away from the CBD but work in town or other mini business hubs e.g. Sandton, Midrand, etc.

I'm born and bread in KZN (Port Shepstone) but spent all my adult, working life in Jhb and CPT. I have never lived in Durban.

Any Durban devs on here that can share their experience?

Cheers
Neville

sp4ceman

durban dot net id look at derivco first up. there are other places obviously but derivco is pretty well known. mr price is another well known company but i have heard scary things regarding their systems and practices. a friend who worked there once copy pasted me a button click function he'd found with like 2000 lines in it.. thoroughtec does simulations and stuff im not sure of they are dotnet or still in c++.

hillcrest is turning into a bit of a dev hub also. companies like chillisoft and the unlimited and dev2 are in hillcrest. clyral is another company that's in dotnet.

i stayed in umhlanga while at derivco but people would commute from all over. staying in umhlanga is like staying in cape town. you can walk around at night, security guards everywhere, rich people everywhere and crap loads of ferraris. its crazy expensive though but you're always against most of the traffic.