New national LTE-A network for South Africa

Chevron

Serial breaker of phones
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
25,901
But why?

They must have something very special planned if they hope to compete with the big boys.

Would love to see the ROI they plan to get from this.
 

The_MAC

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
6,095
And they expect to provide national coverage in those frequency ranges, pffft, that will eat up the budget before they get out of the metros.

Without a sub-1-gig frequency, this is going to flop
 

yebocan

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
12,419
But why?

They must have something very special planned if they hope to compete with the big boys.

Would love to see the ROI they plan to get from this.

Always something very special...that never sees the day of light or when launched, does not measure up. SNO, National Broadband Network initiative...comes to mind...Will not be holding my breath.
 

Dlamaqhinga

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,196
And they expect to provide national coverage in those frequency ranges, pffft, that will eat up the budget before they get out of the metros.

Without a sub-1-gig frequency, this is going to flop

I think this will be only for Metros, low hanging fruits first and gradually expand to nationally if the uptake is good from the Metros.
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
52,207
If they want people to use this in their phones, but it is a LTE-A network only, how will they provide voice on the users cellphones?
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
52,207

I know. I actually created a thread about it here, but our operators dont seem interested in solving the Volte issue on handsets that has got LTE, but not Volte support in the firmware. I dont understand why. In my view, without doing something like Jio did, you are not realizing the potential of a network you invested a lot of money into.
 

siraman

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
1,992
It will be superior to ADSL offerings

Price wise per Gig?For sure on performance.Last one,National equating to rural and metro mix or just metro?
 

Gaz{M}

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
6,739
It's fixed broadband only. And they only have small allocations of spectrum in 1800 and 2600Mhz bands, so don't hold your breathe.
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
52,207
It's fixed broadband only. And they only have small allocations of spectrum in 1800 and 2600Mhz bands, so don't hold your breathe.

They said it can be used in cellphones and tablets in the article.
 

Gaz{M}

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
6,739
Yes, but they are not building a mobile network with blanket coverage. So yes you can put the SIM in your phone, just don't expect seamless coverage.
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
52,207
Yes, but they are not building a mobile network with blanket coverage. So yes you can put the SIM in your phone, just don't expect seamless coverage.

Seems they are going into roaming agreements to complement their network. Seems Vodacom is the preferred one according to the article.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
12,112
Yes, but they are not building a mobile network with blanket coverage. So yes you can put the SIM in your phone, just don't expect seamless coverage.
This would be a good use case for a dual-SIM phone.
 
Top