New property. Telkom say no ADSL for 3 months (!). So I need 3G. Best (not cheapest)

arthurmild

Hi Guys,

Just learned that the new house I will be renting has no telkom line (although next door has). Telkom told me that it will take 3 months to install ADSL because it is a 'project' - wtf? - lets not get distracted by that for now

I need to select a 3G provider within the next two weeks. I am brand new to the service concept and have little time to review all the options from scratch. I'm hoping you people can help me cut through the crap.

Reliability and good support are more important to me than cost

I chow between 3 and 7Gb per month currently, although could limit to around 4Gb with effort.

I have a cheapo phone on pay as you go with MTN right now - a phone that can pick up e-mail (cheaply) would be good too.

What provider/package would you recommend?

Thanks

Steve

PS Sure I could get ADSL in my new place quicker (having read Lawrences guide Stickie here) and will give it a try but I might not be lucky and anyway will need back up to access web when ADSL goes down (as it has 4 times in the last week here).

Surely a warning from the future ....

portcullis

Cape Connect Internet Rep
Company Rep
3G isn't a cheap option.

Look at which WISPs operate in your area. Also look at getting Telkom to give you WiMax.

XeroS1x

3G is not cheap, although, some ISP's such as G-Connect offer fairly good prices per mb. You could perhaps look at getting a Neotel service or iBurst.

G-connect

McCrazieGoalz

Expert Member
You said within the next 2 weeks?

Well. I have read on this site that Cell C will be releasing a R999/yr wireless modem with 2GB of bandwidth per month. I am sure you can topup the bandwidth at a similarly affordable price.

The article said that Cell C will be releasing this offer on the 20th or 21st of this month (August 2010).