Octotel (Octofail) - You Have Been Warned!

avr-rulez

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2004
Messages
1,095
#22
This is indeed very concerning as Octotel are trenching my area (muizenberg) and no other fibre provider....

I get 19.6Mbps to Vodafone UK on VDSL 20Mbps line via VOX on Telkom. My sister just got 20/20Mbps fibre in Kirstenhof on Frogfoot using Macrolan and after all techie's testing and fault finding - all she gets to Vodafone UK is 15.5Mbps. Go figure???

One thing that is not 2 things is that that will no fly by me....
 

maumau

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
12,423
#23
This is indeed very concerning as Octotel are trenching my area (muizenberg) and no other fibre provider....

I get 19.6Mbps to Vodafone UK on VDSL 20Mbps line via VOX on Telkom. My sister just got 20/20Mbps fibre in Kirstenhof on Frogfoot using Macrolan and after all techie's testing and fault finding - all she gets to Vodafone UK is 15.5Mbps. Go figure???

One thing that is not 2 things is that that will no fly by me....

?
 

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
5,369
#29
This is indeed very concerning as Octotel are trenching my area (muizenberg) and no other fibre provider....

I get 19.6Mbps to Vodafone UK on VDSL 20Mbps line via VOX on Telkom. My sister just got 20/20Mbps fibre in Kirstenhof on Frogfoot using Macrolan and after all techie's testing and fault finding - all she gets to Vodafone UK is 15.5Mbps. Go figure???

One thing that is not 2 things is that that will no fly by me....
15.5 on 20/20 FTTH ... OMG if I could only get that. I can't even get 2Mbps!!!
 

Budza

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
7,485
#32
I'm in Lynfrae.

Have had endless kak with RSAWEB- I blame them though. If the issue was Octotel, surely they'd pass the blame?

They seem clueless, so perhaps they don't know themselves.

I've resorted to release/renew my IP whenever there's a slowdown. That seems to fix it for a week or two.

Not even my ancient ADSL was this unstable :(
 

Splice

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
626
#34
How do you recover from one of these disconnects?

Does internet just die or slow to a crawl?
Internet is down when it disconnects.

90% of the time I just restart my modem which works.
The other 10% of the time I just have to wait.
 

Budza

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
7,485
#35
My understanding of fibre was that it was MUCH more stable than ADSL.

As in we shouldn't be seeing any disconnects at all. ADSL slowed down and needed a port reset once a month or so.

My RSAWEB / Octotel experience has been worse, about twice a month at least.

I'll move from RSAWEB when my contract is up and tell whoever the new guys are they story. If they fail too, I'll keep moving.
 

access

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
8,258
#38
Like I said, its clearly my computer or I am dreaming.
chill out, people are just giving information because you stated the cpt network is congested, if everyone was agreeing with you then it would appear to be a network wide issue, but they are not, so its something else.

also, i saw some weird speed issues with octotel/rsaweb. changed dns servers and it went away
 

mercurial

MyBB Legend
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
37,831
#39
chill out, people are just giving information because you stated the cpt network is congested, if everyone was agreeing with you then it would appear to be a network wide issue, but they are not, so its something else.

also, i saw some weird speed issues with octotel/rsaweb. changed dns servers and it went away
Which dns server did you use?
 
Top