Office 365 and working from home

TribbleZA

Honorary Master
Because working from home is the current trend, due to the virus, I thought I would share some articles and information that I have come across that may make things easier. Please feel free to do the same.

I must point out that I am not an expert and just sharing information I find. Those that are, please let me know if I share anything useless or incorrect.

TribbleZA

Honorary Master
Microsoft Teams and Hosted Exchange, ie. Office365 E3 licenses is all you need.
Not everyone uses Teams currently and many people are using VPN to connect to company data. I have heard stories of people refusing Teams and insisting on Skype for Business.

swakop_toe

Teams is the future. Microsoft is killing off Skype and make Teams the norm. Teams also has better voice and video quality.
Indeed.
Issue O365E3 licenses to everyone.
Click-click easy for each user to migrate with videos, etc.
For company data, issue a OneDrive license for the file servers, sync al the folders "up" with OneDrive. OneDrive and SharePoint is "the same storage space".

All of Teams comms is stored in SharePoint.
Chats, files, video and tele cons, the works.

It is the game changer home office enablers.

After above is done, no need for VPN connections to the co. onsite servers.

TribbleZA

Honorary Master
Teams is the future. Microsoft is killing off Skype and make Teams the norm. Teams also has better voice and video quality.
Exactly - but some people are resistant to change. That is why there is such a thing as Change Management.

But these are unique times - most people will adjust faster.

Dames