Please do a MyBroadband speed test on Rain

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,303
Rain 5G premium

11424577558.png


Rain 4G R250

7342688225.png
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,303
I'm covered by a few towers. Decided to move my CPE to catch another tower. Signal is a bit weaker and the upload shows but download speeds are significantly higher.

r_5g.png
 

SlowInternet

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
7,758
The last few days my internet speed has gone down the drain. From getting about 15-20Mbps I now get 1-2Mbps :crying:

I have rebooted the router several times but no luck.

Screenshot - 2021_05_16 , 08_41_38.png
 

SlowInternet

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
7,758
Hi @SlowInternet

I will get someone to contact you and assist you ASAP.
I was contacted by a consultant. (Don't know if I can mention his name) He is a very professional and helpful person. He's one of those guys that will go the extra mile for you.

We are still trying to sort out the problem. He will contact me again by tomorrow.

Thank you for the quick response I always receive from you.
 

mrlgm007

Senior Member
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
998
Ping is up a little no clue why will give it a reboot later but still runs well.

Sundays it little slow down to the 80's but other than that PERFECT.

1621526403355.png
 

hood

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
9
Rain Uncapped Anytime. 10mbps U/L 10mbps D/L

Ping
34ms

Download
9.24Mbps

Upload
20.75Mbps
 

hood

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
9
I am so sick of the crap that I have to put up with RAIN. Speed test at 18.20 is 9.24mbps D/L and 20.75mbps U/L.
I cannot even watch a YouTube at 144p without continual stop start. This has to be caused up huge traffic shaping.
 

oldtimerZA

Active Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
98
I don't know if I'm doing anything wrong. Maybe someone can advise me on setting up my router better. I'm on the 5G premium product for R999pm.

Currently I get around 60Mbps down and 2.5 Mbps up. I live 1.5km away from Sandton.

I expected there to be a Tower in my area, or at least close by.

I have a the router on a pole on my balcony, but I am in a complex with no direct line of site.

Surely even without direct line of site I should get better speeds than that?

I also get intermittent disconnects, which can be annoying, takes a minute or two to reconnect.

Rain map shows 3 towers near me, 800 m, 1km and 2km away.They're all behind my building though.


1623696191114.png



Speed test from just now:


1623696392383.png



Mounting higher outside isn't possible as I am on the middle floor unit.

If theres no way to resolve and get better speeds than I'll setup fibre and pay the installation fee, it's already in the complex, so might as well. Just thought I'd give 5G a test run as it's flexible in terms of taking it with you.
 

Kiemo

Expert Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
1,550
I don't know if I'm doing anything wrong. Maybe someone can advise me on setting up my router better. I'm on the 5G premium product for R999pm.

Currently I get around 60Mbps down and 2.5 Mbps up. I live 1.5km away from Sandton.

I expected there to be a Tower in my area, or at least close by.

I have a the router on a pole on my balcony, but I am in a complex with no direct line of site.

Surely even without direct line of site I should get better speeds than that?

I also get intermittent disconnects, which can be annoying, takes a minute or two to reconnect.

Rain map shows 3 towers near me, 800 m, 1km and 2km away.They're all behind my building though.


1623696191114.png



Speed test from just now:


1623696392383.png



Mounting higher outside isn't possible as I am on the middle floor unit.

If theres no way to resolve and get better speeds than I'll setup fibre and pay the installation fee, it's already in the complex, so might as well. Just thought I'd give 5G a test run as it's flexible in terms of taking it with you.
If you are unsure maybe @rain_mobile should try getting you a technician ‍ to help you test speeds and try getting you the best position possible for this to work … but seeing that you living in a complex maybe it could be that … but try using rains optimiser
 
Top