doobz

Hey guys,

So the gist of it: I recently moved back to South Africa, therefore I had all of my belongings with me when I landed. Well as my luck would have it, within one hour of landing and packing my stuff onto a truck to go to my new apartment, I was robbed and beaten by 5 men armed with guns, who then proceeded to take all of my belongings, which included basically all of my money and of course they drove away with the truck that contained everything I owned... So I had nothing left. They then left me on the street so I had to walk for about 5 hours to get to my new place.

So my main problem is that I'm a student and I need a car to go to university. I was supposed to buy a car, but then the robbery happened and I lost upwards of R80000 (Which is like R1.2 Million for a uni student eh). I figured it'd actually be MUCH cheaper to get a rent-to-own vehicle instead of hopping taxis, never mind how much safer it'd be. I opened a student account at FNB, but they said that they don't do vehicle finance for students.

So what I wanted to know was:
  • Is it possible for a foreign student to get a rent-to-own vehicle in SA?
  • Do any of you know a dealership or individual that allows monthly payments of a vehicle, but without involving a bank?

If you're wondering what my budget is, it's:
R2000 - R3500 a month if there's a deposit
R2000 - R5000 a month if there's no deposit

I'm 19 years old if it's of any significance

Thanks

Zoomzoom

Executive Member
Hey guys,