SA engineer slapped with R100,000 demand for pirated copy of Solidworks

Hanno Labuschagne

Journalist
Staff member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
2,423

SA engineer slapped with R100,000 demand for pirated copy of Solidworks

A South African engineer was recently caught with an unlicensed copy of Solidworks on his computer, and developer Dassault Systèmes demanded licence fees of over R100,000 when they discovered the violation.

Solidworks is a computer-aided design and computer-aided engineering tool for Windows PCs that specialises in the modelling of three-dimensional solids.

The engineer, who spoke to MyBroadband on condition of anonymity, said while the software was installed on his company-issued laptop, the company he worked for had nothing to do with it.
 

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
24,704
Curios to know how they detected the software was installed on a specific pc and then link it to the company
this, sure they print some invisible watermarks on pages printed.
also, ouch some IT guy is getting fired!
 

Fulcrum29

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
43,108
Curios to know how they detected the software was installed on a specific pc and then link it to the company

My best guess is that the company may have a license node installed, and when he connected to the network it 'seeked' the network to connect to a node, was detected and reported automatically.
 

Cray

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
27,039
Weird, usually the company would be liable for pirated software on a work laptop. That's why certain companies go to such an effort to run inventory reports of installed software on company machines.
 

RedViking

Nord of the South
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
39,681
He could have installed Fusion 360 and register as a hobbyist. There was no reason to pirate a 5 000$ program to do 3D printing. Or he could have just borrowed a work license. Maybe he planned to learn Solid Works so he can get another job.

At least now he has a glorified program to either go solo or print hans solo.

That said, what grinds my gears are when companies use pirated software or not buying their employees the software they require to do their jobs.

In New Zealand this is a big problem among housing companies. One Archicad License is 12 000$. So in order for me to be able to buy that I need to charge fees that can cover my expenses.

What the housing and kitset companies are doing is pirate the software, hire employees expected to work 15 hours / 7 days a week from India or Philippines making them pirate it as well and then charge ridiculous fees, some times even rendering services for free.
 

daveza

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
44,234
Weird, usually the company would be liable for pirated software on a work laptop. That's why certain companies go to such an effort to run inventory reports of installed software on company machines.


In 20 years, never dealt with a single company that does that.
 

gregmcc

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
23,414
The software most likely constantly polls home to check if the license is still valid.
They will see the public IP of the connection and then its easy to trace
 

Cray

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
27,039
The software most likely constantly polls home to check if the license is still valid.
They will see the public IP of the connection and then its easy to trace
Would have thought a corporate firewall would prevent that but if the guys was working from home or on the road then yeah, very possible,
 

gregmcc

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
23,414
Would have thought a corporate firewall would prevent that but if the guys was working from home or on the road then yeah, very possible,
He might have VPN'd into the company and then connected out via the corporate proxy. That's very common now especially with Covid
 

Little Mac

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
53,101
Would have thought a corporate firewall would prevent that but if the guys was working from home or on the road then yeah, very possible,
IIRC solidworx doesn't work if it can't phone home unless it's cracked.
 
Top