Shopping from Amazon USA.

infrared

Good day,

I would like to purchase a laptop from Amazon USA. However, this is my first time purchasing something from Amazon and I am a little nervous. My main concerns are, besides the actual cost ( including shipping,tax and duties) are there any other costs that I need to be aware of. Will the laptop be delivered straight to my doorstep or will I have to get it released from the customs. And I'm paying using a Standard Bank card in dollars because the AMAZON currency converter isn't great. What exchange rate will Standard Bank offer me and are there any transaction costs that bank will charge me. Should I buy the protection plan, in case the item is damaged while being shipped to South Africa?

P.S https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B075...aspire+e15&dpPl=1&dpID=41HfDkXXyeL&ref=plSrch. The laptop i would like to buy. Its sold and shipped by Amazon.

IOPS

Amazon ships this item to SA, so everything is covered.
You'll pay for shipping, customs, tax etc etc on checkout. The item is then shipped via courier to your door. You won't pay anything else.

I've had items shipped from Amazon for years without any issues. Returns are a bit of a pain though.

bratwurst

Expert Member
I use amex to pay in dollar. It's almost 1:1. FNB's exchange rate is a joke. Unsure about standard bank.

Also keep in mind, amazon only charges your card once they start packing your order. This could be a few hours later or even a day or 2 later, so the Rand dollar exchange can change. The Rand price can be locked in.

beans100

Honorary Master
Looks like a nice laptop, I'm also looking for bargain. How is customs on electronics? I know on clothes they are like 120%, are they as crazy on laptops etc?
/Subscribed

SA-UK

Banned
Be aware for whats its worth I bought a mobile phone a few months ago off Amazon US (1st purchase in years as I have been a v happy Ebay buyer/seller since moving to UK in 2002 ) after returning to SA 6 months ago.