SIM card fraud - who is to blame?

MKFrost

Expert Member
I'm not technically savvy but how about linking the IMEI number of the phone to the bank account and not the sim/phone number?

In that way you can swap sim's until you are blue in the face. If you do not have the actual phone you cannot do anything. If you lose your phone then you go through the normal procedure as before.

rrcatto

To do a SIM swop, you need to present the RSA ID associated with the SIM - how do the fraudsters get around this?

Allin

Expert Member
RICA is another waste of time and money. In our dorpie you can buy "pre-RICA'd" SIMS at just about every Chinese store.

MDE

Expert Member
I'm not technically savvy but how about linking the IMEI number of the phone to the bank account and not the sim/phone number?

In that way you can swap sim's until you are blue in the face. If you do not have the actual phone you cannot do anything. If you lose your phone then you go through the normal procedure as before.

From what I've been told recently is that the ABSA app does link the IMEI to the account. I think the issue is also online internet banking and people entering there details to phishing sites.

I read somewhere which I agree with is to put a 48hr hold on payments to any new beneficiaries and a note when you login on the page somewhere showing the pending payments.

MKFrost

Expert Member
...put a 48hr hold on payments to any new beneficiaries and a note when you login on the page somewhere showing the pending payments.

I understand the reasoning behind this but it will be taking step backwards in my opinion.

The banks should improve on the method of authentication. As said, currently the SMS system is linked to the phone number and thus the sim card. They should break away from this and link to the IMEI number which is linked to the phone.