Small Claims Court: Email as Letter of Demand

Kosmik

Honorary Master
As far as I know, it requires proof/implied proof of receipt so is normally :

1. Registerd Mail
2. Hand Delivered with a witness
3. Fax with receipt confirmation.

It may work if you force a receipt but people can block those from being sent back to you.

Arthur

Honorary Master
As per Step 2: "Deliver the written demand by hand or registered post to the opposing party". The SCC has specific rules for what constitutes proper delivery, so hand delivery is best.

savage

Expert Member
The ETC act sees email as a valid form of communication. I'm no expert, but from what I understand from the ETC act, e-mail is as good as a registered letter / fax / hand delivered communications.

Jozsef Borbely

As per Step 2: "Deliver the written demand by hand or registered post to the opposing party". The SCC has specific rules for what constitutes proper delivery, so hand delivery is best.
+

The ETC act sees email as a valid form of communication. I'm no expert, but from what I understand from the ETC act, e-mail is as good as a registered letter / fax / hand delivered communications.
Both seem reasonable. Thats why I was hoping to come across someone that successfully used an email as a letter of demand.

Thanks for the input.

Arthur

Honorary Master
Generally that's true for legal delivery of ordinary commercial communications. However, certain types of written communication (such as summonses) have more specific requirements and trump the general rule - that's why a summons cannot be sent by email. The Small Claims Court Court Act sets up specific rules which must be followed. It has a very much more truncated legal process to expedite decisions by the Commissioner, and proof of delivery is therefore more specific. The plaintiff will have to submit proofs of the demand letter and legal delivery, so best follow the rules as defined.

Fulcrum29

Honorary Master