Soon to be graduate looking for life advice

spilz2012

I have turned to the MyBroadband forums whenever I have had a major life decision. When I was in matric I turned to the forums for degree advice and now I would like some more advice for my future.

Let me give you all some information about me to assist with the advice:
  1. I am completing my honours in Actuarial Science at UCT
  2. My BCom average was 74% and I obtained all of my actuarial professional accreditations
  3. I am a white male with a UK passport and family in Australia
  4. I have applied to many jobs, recruiters etc for next year and have achieved nothing from the process. I think BEE is a major culprit but there may be other issues at play.
  5. I would like to live in Australia next eventually and have a family there
  6. Despite having studied this I would not say that I am a strong coder
I have a few options for next year:
  1. Find work somewhere in SA (something will probably turn up) and complete my actuarial studies and then emigrate after i have qualified
  2. Do a masters in financial mathematics at UCT next year and try and get into banking in SA
  3. Work until September next year then do a masters in the UK/Europe and then go into financial services and give up the actuarial stuff
  4. Go to Aus after I graduate and try my luck

I guess I just want some opinions or possible success stories. It is my understanding that continuing with act sci is probably a waste if i wanna go to Aus. SA has a professional degree bias. I want to work in financial services or consulting but I am not super fussy. I just want to be able to learn a lot and have a career that pushes me with options to lead one day.

Happy Father's Day
Please DM me if you can put me in contact with anyone.

Lucas Buck

Expert Member
Apply for one of the graduate programs when companies do their recruiting at your institution. This normally occurs during the second semester.

thestaggy

Honorary Master