Starting Salary for 1st Year Accounting Trainee

ZiGGi3

Hi, just wanting to find out what each city's average salary is for an Bcom Honours graduate wanting to complete his first year of articles.

Thanks.

mjwitter

8-10k?? What are you smoking? R5k to R6k in Cape Town for first year articles.
I probably should have added that, firstly, I am a first year accountant trainee (articles clerk )in Cape Town, and, secondly, I know many others at audit firms in their first, second and final years who started on those salaries...

IceDreama

8-10k?? What are you smoking? R5k to R6k in Cape Town for first year articles.
lol. I think that question should be turned around. People without honours earn more than R6k. I had my honours in 1st year and started on R10k.

Sensorei

Expert Member
For a first year articles clerk in Cape Town with no work experience the average is R5k to R6k. R10k is unheard of. Cape Town salaries are lower than Joburg/Pretoria.

mjwitter

For a first year articles clerk in Cape Town with no work experience the average is R5k to R6k. R10k is unheard of. Cape Town salaries are lower than Joburg/Pretoria.
Where are these salaries being paid? I have yet to meet anyone with a bcom and honours who is being paid R5-R6k for articles. As IceDreama says, even those without honours, ie just a bcom, earn more than that.

Just_Ice

Executive Member
Busy with my 3rd year of accounting so going to follow this thread!
And so will I as a second year student.

I get paid R1250 a week for vac work, which is +-R6000/month. That was last year as a first year student.
What I once heard (and is by no means necessarily fact) though, is your first paycheck will be +-R9000 to R10000. Thats after tax and their other deductions (medical aid contributions etc)

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
Depends. I know people getting 6k and people getting 14k. The 14k is an exception though.

10k is par for the course in Pta/Jhb. Cpt should be a grand or two lower.