Telkom ADSL Speed Upgrades

pedruid

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
1,454
I read somewhere that Telkom intend upgrading speeds at no extra cost and that it was to take place at beginning of March 2021.
Anyone who can confirm this or was I just hallucinating?
 

pedruid

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
1,454
I note that it states Openserve wholesale, will this apply to those of us who have our ADSL line with Telkom and a separate ISP?
 

370z

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
532
I’m with CoolIdeas and they’re passing along the speed doubling to the customer for no extra cost.

This is fibre though, not sure what the case is with ADSL.
 

haroldj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
186
Obviously the speed upgrade means more data being consumed, so if yo have a capped account it will deplete faster and uncapped, you will reach your threshold faster.
 

Totempole

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
4,418
Obviously the speed upgrade means more data being consumed, so if yo have a capped account it will deplete faster and uncapped, you will reach your threshold faster.
Correct, but this has nothing to do with the question the OP is asking.
 

Brian Nelson

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Messages
7
If I download a (say) 50MB piece of software, why will more data be consumed at the higher speed? May be true for a video where the system downloads a better quality of video due to the higher speed being available.
 

badtrev

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
827
I am with Openserve/Telkom Internet. I got the speed upgrade last night, but then they messed up and created a new profile so I had no access in the morning. But I have been moved from 20/20 to 50/25. I hope I am not going to get a messed up bill next month
 

Fox1

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
5,276
The Telkom ADSL page is down. I guess they're bringing new packages since not all of us are eligible for the upgrades due to the exchange not supporting it.
 

Scuderia1

Active Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2017
Messages
89
The Telkom ADSL page is down. I guess they're bringing new packages since not all of us are eligible for the upgrades due to the exchange not supporting it.
I was told this already by telkom, i cannot go higher than 10mb on my adsl
 

Grouter

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
4,944
The Telkom ADSL page is down. I guess they're bringing new packages since not all of us are eligible for the upgrades due to the exchange not supporting it.
It's down more than it's up in my experience...
 

ouman430

Active Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
85
I am with Openserve/Telkom Internet. I got the speed upgrade last night, but then they messed up and created a new profile so I had no access in the morning. But I have been moved from 20/20 to 50/25. I hope I am not going to get a messed up bill next month
Happend to me as well. I had no inernet from Friday until Monday. Tech guy came out and found out that they upgraded me without advising me. New profile blah blah ..not for free it is going to cost me more.
 

wingnut771

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
12,549
Happend to me as well. I had no inernet from Friday until Monday. Tech guy came out and found out that they upgraded me without advising me. New profile blah blah ..not for free it is going to cost me more.
Change to afrihost.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,157
We still don't know whether users with DSL lines and separate data packages will be upgraded as well.

So far only bundled services are being upgraded for certain.

The lines will be upgraded by Openserve whether the ISPs change prices or not and if ISPs don't change prices the 40Mbps and people on the max line speed already will lose out unfortunately because those won't be upgraded.
 

Totempole

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
4,418
The lines will be upgraded by Openserve whether the ISPs change prices or not and if ISPs don't change prices the 40Mbps and people on the max line speed already will lose out unfortunately because those won't be upgraded.

I'm on 20Mb, but I'm not sure I'm close enough to the exchange to officially support 40Mb, so can't be certain my line will be bumped up.
 
Top