Telkom Freeme Family voice usage summary

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#1
Is anybody experiencing weird behavior on the Telkom App? Normally I get a summary for my included 300 mins saying I used x mins out of the 300. Lately it is showing an amount of 12139 mins left and 160 mins used. What’s up with that?
 

cyberbob1979

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
1,235
#2
Could be part of that Telkom system failure that started last week that is still rumbling around - they also did say they are giving people 1gb of data valid for 2 days because of it...
 

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#3
Basically even when I phone Telkom numbers it uses my off net minutes. Cal centre can’t help because according to them they cannot see the problem.
 

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#4
The issue has not been resolved. Telkom is struggling to believe my bold claims and all they can do is log a call to IT. I’ve logged 4 calls now but no one is following up with me.
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
22,044
#5
I never used to have how many on-net minutes I had, May 30th was my last check.

Now I have 2998 minutes and 54 seconds available. Interesting that they now show this. (checked about a minute ago)
 

marioat1

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
961
#6
Basically even when I phone Telkom numbers it uses my off net minutes. Cal centre can’t help because according to them they cannot see the problem.
Have you checked that the "Telkom" numbers you're calling, are on the telkom network?
 

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#7
Yip. I’ve been on this contract for over a year now. Same habits, same Telkom numbers that I phone every month.
 

marioat1

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
961
#8
Yip. I’ve been on this contract for over a year now. Same habits, same Telkom numbers that I phone every month.
What I mean is, are you sure the numbers you're dialing are still on telkom. Install truecaller or similar to verify as many landline numbers have moved off network
 

Sphinx21

Active Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
49
#10
I've been experiencing major issues with them on my freeme family 30GB plan; particularly this month. It appears that Telkom to Telkom calls are being deducted from my ordinary minutes allowance. My allocations of minutes to the different sims doesn't seem to be working - all sims have total access to the general pool. Went into store and they're clueless. I think these plans are great value - but I'm pulling out my hair with all this nonsense. App and website have never been of any use - stuck making allocations on iffy USSD, but now even that is acting up!
 

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#11
I've been experiencing major issues with them on my freeme family 30GB plan; particularly this month. It appears that Telkom to Telkom calls are being deducted from my ordinary minutes allowance. My allocations of minutes to the different sims doesn't seem to be working - all sims have total access to the general pool. Went into store and they're clueless. I think these plans are great value - but I'm pulling out my hair with all this nonsense. App and website have never been of any use - stuck making allocations on iffy USSD, but now even that is acting up!
Thought it was just me. Logged 4 calls. Telkom has no idea. Big problem for me as my free 300 off-net minutes are almost up meaning I am going to start paying. According to Telkom I have not made 1 phone cal to a Telkom nr. Just not the case. I phone Telkom mobile and Telkom land line numbers everyday.
 

Sphinx21

Active Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
49
#12
Thought it was just me. Logged 4 calls. Telkom has no idea. Big problem for me as my free 300 off-net minutes are almost up meaning I am going to start paying. According to Telkom I have not made 1 phone cal to a Telkom nr. Just not the case. I phone Telkom mobile and Telkom land line numbers everyday.
Precisely! They've logged faults, but of course I've heard nothing back either! I'm on month-to-month, but the data on the package is still a great deal and now their Freeme voice top-up bundles are equally compelling for staying on. Very frustrating though.
 

iWish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
375
#13
Amazingly how they can not sort this out or communicate something to the users.
Best is if I log a cal (yes, my 15th logged call) they tel me the numbers I phone have ported to non telkom numbers. How? I mean I phone one of my own Freeme Family sim numbers that is on TelkomMobile... stil got 3000 min left although I phone Telkom numbers everyday!!
Will cancel when I am due.
 

cpu.

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,298
#14
What I mean is, are you sure the numbers you're dialing are still on telkom. Install truecaller or similar to verify as many landline numbers have moved off network
No need to install a contact harvester. Listen at the beginning of the call for two beeps that indicate a number is not on the original network.
 
Top