Telkom Mega100WR2 - International and Local Traffic Splitting

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
Yes, the gateway ip address is assigned when you connect, but it shouldn't change unless your ISP starts playing around with the network...

Milomak, in answer to your edit on post 94, it's quite possible to set the connection manually from the cli, but I wouldn't bother! It's far easier to use the web interface.

The CLI on this router is very much like the industry standard Cisco cli. I'm sure most modems out there also use something similar? Perhaps people can start getting away from RAS connections, bridging, route sentry etc?? :)
 

milomak

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
12,338
The thing with creating the connections on the web interface is that there is no way of specifying which connection is ppp0,1 etc. Which isn’t much of a problem when you create two as it seems to reconnect them in the order you created them. However I have found that when you create 3 (international, IS local and SAIX local); there is no guarantee which will be ppp0,ppp1 or ppp2. I am hoping that creating from the cli will mean that I can force which connection gets which interface number.

But as you say the sooner the day arrives when we have to stop worrying about all this the better
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
If you delete all your connections in the web interface, then save changes and reboot the router, when you create the new connections, they should be assigned to each progressive interface in the order you create them, as long as you save changes after creating each one.

If you want to go the cli route, you need to go to the wan context, then connection 1 and set up all your details like
connection type pppoe,
connection name xxx,
ppp authentication username xxx
ppp authentication password xxx
ppp default route enable/disable
and other ppp options (type ppp ?) for help
atm pvc 8 35
etc..

It's a fair amount of work!
 
Last edited:

milomak

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
12,338
I'm pretty sure when creating via the web interface I apply and save settings after i've created each one. Was a while back I did. Anyway after playing with the cli interface I might decide to create scripts for the various accounts.
 

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,394
Sounds good....I have been doing some digging myself, and well...It looks good too! Just a shame I dont know what any of the commands "do". The "help" does not even show the commands you guys are using here.
 

psainsbury

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2005
Messages
109
When I use the cli method to add the routes, my router slows down to a crawl or just hangs. But if I use the "shell" method, it works fine (except for the fact that it loses the routes when it reboots).

Anyone else have the same problem?
 

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,394
When I use the cli method to add the routes, my router slows down to a crawl or just hangs. But if I use the "shell" method, it works fine (except for the fact that it loses the routes when it reboots).

Anyone else have the same problem?
Just a tad busy this side. Will be looking on this sometime this weekend again.
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
Broadcom - Do you use Linux? If yes, what is the output of the following:

# ping -c5 www.iol.co.za
# ping -c5 www.google.com
Yes, I do... ?

jj@joshua:~$ ping -c5 www.iol.co.za
PING www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79): icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=48.6 ms
64 bytes from www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79): icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=45.6 ms
64 bytes from www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79): icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=47.6 ms
64 bytes from www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79): icmp_seq=4 ttl=57 time=46.0 ms
64 bytes from www.iol.co.za (196.30.168.79): icmp_seq=5 ttl=57 time=46.4 ms

--- www.iol.co.za ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4007ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 45.679/46.879/48.635/1.107 ms

jj@joshua:~$ ping -c5 www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (209.85.135.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.google.com (209.85.135.147): icmp_seq=1 ttl=241 time=369 ms
64 bytes from www.google.com (209.85.135.147): icmp_seq=2 ttl=241 time=370 ms
64 bytes from www.google.com (209.85.135.147): icmp_seq=3 ttl=241 time=371 ms
64 bytes from www.google.com (209.85.135.147): icmp_seq=4 ttl=241 time=373 ms
64 bytes from www.google.com (209.85.135.147): icmp_seq=5 ttl=241 time=365 ms

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 365.748/369.969/373.228/2.542 ms​
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
Milomak, have you had any joy getting your cli routes to work?

The thing with creating the connections on the web interface is that there is no way of specifying which connection is ppp0,1 etc. Which isn’t much of a problem when you create two as it seems to reconnect them in the order you created them. However I have found that when you create 3 (international, IS local and SAIX local); there is no guarantee which will be ppp0,ppp1 or ppp2. I am hoping that creating from the cli will mean that I can force which connection gets which interface number.
If you use the cli for the routes, the order or assignment of the ppp interfaces becomes unimportant because the routing table is tied to the connection id and not the interface, so your routing will still work properly whether your local connection is on ppp0 or ppp1 or whatever.
 

milomak

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
12,338
I thought I was going to sit down and do it this weekend but I just never got round to it. Thanks for the Linux input, when I put the routes via the OS I get duplicate responses when I do a ping in Linux. And I suspect that that is causing my line speed to have on each thread. I have even more reason to do this quickly now.
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
Broadcom - what does the 0 after metric represent?
The metric number refers to the 'cost' of a route. The higher the number the greater the cost, so lower numbered routes will be given preference when routing decisions are made (if there is more than one route to the same network). Metric 0 is the default for 'directly attached' networks, interface-wise.
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
Also can you explain how you copy and paste the routes from Notepad?
It's just a simple copy & paste operation from whatever text editor you are using to your telnet session, be that xterm, hyperterm, putty. I think hyperterminal has the "paste to host" option.

Your list of routes should be formatted with a newline at the end of every route, so each line will be entered as a command when you paste the list. Simple as that.

NB: You won't see the routes until you type 'apply'

(see post 91 for details)
 

milomak

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
12,338
I'll try putty. Copying and pasting the the lines in the form:

ro static-a ...

into a terminal window in Linux didn't prove successful. This was trying to copy and paste them from Open Office.
 

Broadcom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
358
I'll try putty. Copying and pasting the the lines in the form:

ro static-a ...

into a terminal window in Linux didn't prove successful. This was trying to copy and paste them from Open Office.
Strange, I do this both in windoze and linux, works even with good old xterm in Linux using a 2 button click to paste from oo. You are copying from the oo.org word processor not the spreadsheet?

Which terminal are you using? What is the error?
 
Last edited:

milomak

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
12,338
I opened the file with the routes with kwrite. I selected the whole document and, right-click --> copy. Went to Konsole and right-click --> Paste. Connection 1 happens to be my local account.

Code:
cli(wan connection1)# route static-add 32.106.152.0 255.255.255.0
                                                                 ^
% Incomplete command at caret.

atic-add 41.222.84.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.222.86.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.8.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.32.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.36.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.37.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.38.0 255.255.254.0
^@route static-add 41.223.60.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.68.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.69.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.70.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.71.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.80.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 41.223.112.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.120.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.244.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.223.252.0 255.255.252.0
^@route static-add 41.240.0.0 255.248.0.0
^@route static-add 57.67.145.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 57.82.0.0 255.255.224.0
^@route static-add 57.82.1.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 57.82.11.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 57.82.13.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 62.200.56.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 62.200.88.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 62.200.131.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 62.200.134.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 62.200.135.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 64.57.112.0 255.255.240.0
^@route static-add 66.8.0.0 255.255.128.0
^@route static-add 66.18.64.0 255.255.224.0
^@route static-add 66.110.74.0 255.255.254.0
^@route static-add 66.110.110.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 66.110.111.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.64.0 255.255.240.0
^@route static-add 69.63.67.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.69.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.70.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.71.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.72.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.73.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.76.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.77.0 255.255.255.0
^@route static-add 69.63.78.0 255.255cli(wan connection1)# route static-add 32.106.153.0 255.255.255.0
 
Top