Telkom wants me to upgrade to a "wireless" home phone

AntiThesis

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
5,312
#1
Anyone else had this? I'm suspicious but intrigued and want to find out more :)

In our continuing efforts to offer you the best communications experience, we'd like to recommend that you upgrade your existing fixed-line phone to our new wireless home phone.

Your current Telkom service is operating on outdated copper-based technology. Telkom is introducing new wireless technology that overcomes the issues associated with copper land-lines such as cable theft and faults. This new wireless technology offers greater reliability and a consistently good quality voice service.

Important to note:

  • Although it is a technology upgrade, your monthly fee and current package
    '' remains the same.
  • You retain your existing fixed line number.
  • You'll receive a free new phone worth more than R1000.
  • Your new phone will be delivered free of charge.
  • You'll receive a free SIM card.
  • Your new phone will be voice & SMS capable.
  • IMPORTANTLY: You won't experience any interruption to your service during the change-over.
 

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
5,534
#2
Its called FLLA, offered to those in areas with high incidences of cable theft, and areas where Telkom have been kept out, like the sad apartment block I presently live in.

* IMPORTANTLY, if you have ADSL, you can kiss that goodbye
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
640
#3
Anyone else had this? I'm suspicious but intrigued and want to find out more :)
Great offer if copper’s being phased out in your area , but be careful if the mail includes a link, and/or you’ve had no adsl issues, and/or you get an unsolicited call to ‘confirm’ the offer & ‘update your details”.

Hope it’s genuine, just bear in mind that they promise all sorts then “upgrade” usually means signing a 2 year contract with whatever new T&C they choose and a debit order agreement.

So far I’ve only seen FLLA ‘free’ upgrades offered after months of adsl faults being logged on FUBAR (or stolen) copper cables.
 

AntiThesis

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
5,312
#5
Well, definitely Telkom and yeah, looks like FLLA. Have asked for a callback so will see what they say - I know they've been offering some people around here a "free" upgrade from DSL to LTE so I'm guessing the same infrastructure
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
46,730
#6
Anyone else had this? I'm suspicious but intrigued and want to find out more :)
If you have extensions:

Hi, up until yesterday I had a copper based service. TELKOM delivered a FLLA telephone (Atel AGP-KW125) which I have activated.
Copper service no longer works (discontinued by TELKOM??) and neither do any of the 3 extensons in the house!
With this new wireless set-up how do I now get extensions? Have to buy 3 new phones and get duplicate SIM cards????
TELKOM shop people just shrug their shoulders!
https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/fixed-line-look-alike-extensions-at-home.981683/
 

zizo911

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
8,963
#7
My colleague had this installed in there house last month, he says it's the worst thing ever since he is unable to even make any calls and always battles with finding a signal. The phone also randomly cuts off while on call as well. Telkom is not much help either.
 

blowdart18

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
637
#8
Just another note, we have tested this by "roaming" with the phone around Pretoria. They somehow lock your phone to a particular cell which would explain why some people have problems with signal since you could be on the edge of a cell.
 

alphabyte

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
349
#9
My copper-based landline was out of order for many weeks, so eventually I opted to change to FLLA - what a mission that was! Staff at the Telkom shop were very unhelpful and untrained. But eventually I got the phone, took it home, and all worked fine.
BUT - there was still a fault report outstanding, and when they got round to checking on it they messed up the FLLA configuration. Now I could use either instrument (FLLA or the old copper-connected) to phone out, but incoming calls would be routed to according to their origin network. So calls from a Telkom number were routed to the FFLA and calls from Vodacom were routed to the copper line. Try explaining this to their help desk, they simply did not believe me. The first tech they sent out did not understand it at all, and left without solving the issue. The second tech was slightly better, he realized it was a configuration issue, but was clueless as to how to solve it. The third tech was more helpful, and although he did not know how to fix it, he followed up and found someone to sort it out.
Since then it has been working fine, no issues, and no more cable theft.
 

Polymathic

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
11,951
#10
Well, definitely Telkom and yeah, looks like FLLA. Have asked for a callback so will see what they say - I know they've been offering some people around here a "free" upgrade from DSL to LTE so I'm guessing the same infrastructure
Where I stay there are several roads where the lines were taken out completely, but they still offering ADSL for the most part. What's annoying though is that the cable running from the exchange to the main box always get stolen and Openserve has already installed fibre lines a couple like 2 years ago but the box still utilitises a copper connection to the exchange. Every couple months we get cable theft
 

system32

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
2,456
#11
My copper-based landline was out of order for many weeks, so eventually I opted to change to FLLA - what a mission that was! Staff at the Telkom shop were very unhelpful and untrained. But eventually I got the phone, took it home, and all worked fine.
BUT - there was still a fault report outstanding, and when they got round to checking on it they messed up the FLLA configuration. Now I could use either instrument (FLLA or the old copper-connected) to phone out, but incoming calls would be routed to according to their origin network. So calls from a Telkom number were routed to the FFLA and calls from Vodacom were routed to the copper line. Try explaining this to their help desk, they simply did not believe me. The first tech they sent out did not understand it at all, and left without solving the issue. The second tech was slightly better, he realized it was a configuration issue, but was clueless as to how to solve it. The third tech was more helpful, and although he did not know how to fix it, he followed up and found someone to sort it out.
Since then it has been working fine, no issues, and no more cable theft.
In November Telkom dropped off one of these - I did not request it.
1544715205396.png
A week or so later, the POTS line went dead and I had to switch to the AGK-KW125.
Seems to work OK.

Just got a my December bill, and it has a "Device Purchase" for R1,199.00

I never asked for the "upgrade" as my POTS line has worked very well.
We don't suffer from cable theft in my area.
Seems unfair that I have to pay for a device that I never asked for.

Did you also have to pay R1,199.00 for a "Device Purchase"?
What should I do?
Please help.
 

Lew Skannen

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
2,903
#12
Anyone else had this? I'm suspicious but intrigued and want to find out more :)
Telkom has been busy the past 4-5 years systematically forcing this onto consumers in many areas. I spoke to someone working at Telkom and they said eventually Telkom will eventually move all landline users to these wireless devices on Telkom Mobile. This explains while Telkom Mobile has seen such big user increases over the past few years. It is not all new users, but probably 95% of their new users are Telkom landline users who are forced onto these devices.

That being said, our neighbourhood has all been forced onto this device. About 2 years ago our landlines went down and when enquiring we were all told it was due to cable theft and that they would not be replacing the cables again. We had to migrate to the wireless device or apply to have our services terminated.

For us, the device works well. No issues in terms of reception. Just hate the idea to maintaining another device with a battery.
 

alphabyte

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
349
#13
Did you also have to pay R1,199.00 for a "Device Purchase"?
What should I do?
Please help.
Yes, I was also charged for a new instrument, although in my case i had requested it.
What should you do? You can try complaining at your Telkom shop, but I doubt if it will help.
 

system32

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
2,456
#14
Yes, I was also charged for a new instrument, although in my case i had requested it.
What should you do? You can try complaining at your Telkom shop, but I doubt if it will help.
Logged a complaint and got a refund.
The Telkom Fixed Wireless handset needs a firmware update - drops calls all the time.
POTS was better.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
10
#15
Telkom has been busy the past 4-5 years systematically forcing this onto consumers in many areas. I spoke to someone working at Telkom and they said eventually Telkom will eventually move all landline users to these wireless devices on Telkom Mobile. This explains while Telkom Mobile has seen such big user increases over the past few years. It is not all new users, but probably 95% of their new users are Telkom landline users who are forced onto these devices.

That being said, our neighbourhood has all been forced onto this device. About 2 years ago our landlines went down and when enquiring we were all told it was due to cable theft and that they would not be replacing the cables again. We had to migrate to the wireless device or apply to have our services terminated.

For us, the device works well. No issues in terms of reception. Just hate the idea to maintaining another device with a battery.
They dont have competent staff to diagnose the problems.Everythings bee now so no experts around.
 
Top