Testing radiation bleed from a microwave, compared to the radiation from a 5G tower

Brian_G

Executive Member
I think it's about 5G frequencies and that effect, not so much strength. But don't quote me.

The concern is the 60 GHz version, apparently not used here though.

Rickster

EVGA Fanatic
I think it's about 5G frequencies and that effect, not so much strength. But don't quote me.

P2P links, very narrow.

BetaProject

If the strength of the radiation is low enough to be below the safe levels, the frequency shouldn't matter. Whether it's 2.4GHz or 60GHz, if the radiation cannot transfer enough energy to cause harm, it becomes a non-issue, in my mind. I might be very mistaken, of course, I'm an informed layman at best in these matters. To make a bad comparison, a small pebble traveling at high speed (more energy) can cause more damage than a large stone tossed gently in your direction.

Brian_G

Executive Member
If the strength of the radiation is low enough to be below the safe levels, the frequency shouldn't matter. Whether it's 2.4GHz or 60GHz, if the radiation cannot transfer enough energy to cause harm, it becomes a non-issue, in my mind. I might be very mistaken, of course, I'm an informed layman at best in these matters. To make a bad comparison, a small pebble traveling at high speed (more energy) can cause more damage than a large stone tossed gently in your direction.
You make sense.
However, any transmission for outside use will be at some degree of influencial power IMO. This frequency is supposed to violate oxygen molecules I'm told, and hasn't been reasonably tested according to the beliefs posted.

Moosedrool

Executive Member

This is below the wavelength of visible light. IE non ionising,

Imagine the crazy radiation from a 430 terahertz tower. :eek:

Oh wait that's just red light.

You make sense.