The best degrees to study to get a high IT salary in South Africa

system32

Expert Member
Bachelor’s degree R42,000
Matric R40,000
Seems like Bachelor’s degree has no value.

Computer Science (BSc Computer Science or similar) R37,000
What does "or similar" mean - MCSE?

Even a BA pays more!

Daruk

Honorary Master
@Newsfeed I think if you introduce age into that equation you will see that the vast majority of those with only matric and earning above average are an older generation with way more experience. It’s very hard to get in at any reasonable salary scale with just a matric and no experience, so I don’t think it’s just down to being self-taught. I think what it’s implying is that you can start on R40k with just a matric which is false. Also, a degree might give you the impression you are entitled to something when in fact you have to prove yourself valuable like anyone else. Some people fall for that trap and never move up much. Us without degrees have known that from the get go. Of course it’s a generalization. There are plenty of degreed folk who have and continue to not take things for granted.

Johand

Expert Member
I am suprised that PhDs earn more... research elsewhere in the world show your earning potential drops when you do a PhD - and the peak is masters degree.

The MBA might also be misleading. A lot of people do their MBA through work when they already have an upward growth trajectory i.e. cause and effect for MBA might be inverted - you do an MBA because you are doing well in your career rather than you are doing well in your career because you did an MBA. It would be interesting to see which qualifications is paired with the MBA.

Messugga

Honorary Master
I am suprised that PhDs earn more... research elsewhere in the world show your earning potential drops when you do a PhD - and the peak is masters degree.