The best universities in South Africa to study Computer Science and IT degrees

simeon

Article doesn't answer the question

So the author poses the question:

But which university should a prospective student choose to get the best-quality education and degree?
...and fails to draw any conclusions from the dry marketing dump that follows. Serves me right for reading MyBB on a slow Sunday night.

For anyone actually faced with a choice, here is some free advice:

I studied with some people who got through the same three year degree programme I did (except they did it four or five years) without learning much of anything (as far as I could tell). We all got the same piece of paper at the end of it, and most employers don't care how many times you failed COS213, so I concluded that your varsity experience is what you make of it. If you want a stellar career in IT, how determined you are to grow your brain is maybe more important than the exact pedigree of your university (in SA anyway, maybe not in the US), as long as you pick one that is good enough.

So how do you know which ones are good enough?

The Wikipedia article on SA university rankings is worth reading: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rankings_of_universities_in_South_Africa

If you can get in (and afford it), one of the five universities in the "Red Cluster" from the 2010 CHET report (UP, US, UCT, WITS, RU) should be your first choice. No offence to anyone who studied at one of the other institutions (I don't need to troll you, others in this thread already have that covered).

Also note that the Mbeki-era university mergers resulted in some strange situations where one university might have two CS departments - so choose yours carefully ;)

Skerminkel

Expert Member
The stuff in bold do not add up. Surely you cannot call a 3 year degree a B Eng!

Wits offers a four-year engineering degree with a focus on information engineering, and accommodates 250 first-year students, annually.