The official supersonic R999 Uncapped feedback!

byronsn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2013
Messages
173
Hi guys, a bit late to the discussion. Got my delivery a few days ago. Connected immediately. Speeds were pretty decent, around the 20mbps mark. Uploads slightly higher at around 30mbps.

Today though it's a totally different story. Speeds have been fluctuating all over the place, both upload and download.

Reading through the thread, I saw that the 618 performs better, so I swapped the soon and tried again. Worse off than before. Put it back into the 612 and the speeds picked up immediately.

By the way, my MTN dim had constant speeds exceeding 30mbps down.
 

Inn3rs3lf

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
2,212
This is probably why the other company was brought in then? Are they developing a plan to fix all this?
They're attempting to. However, the big shots at Supersonic are not heeding their advice. It has been an endless battle since August.
 
  • Wow
Reactions: Yuu

Peppercorns

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
756
So I've been waiting for my delivery from RAM for 3 days. Gave them a call today to find out that the delivery vehicle was hijacked and my package stolen.
Supersonic will need to issue a replacement. I guess it will take another week.
 
  • Wow
Reactions: Yuu

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
Very happy with the service. No FUP or throttle. We've got no fibre available, and likely won't get either. This is definitely a great option. It's likely the best given the horrible experiences I've heard of with some fibre providers overselling infrastructure. I'm getting a consistent 70 - 140 Mbps download, and 25 - 49 Mbps upload. The speed difference seems to be signal related, in the earlier hours my SINR is higher, and throughput shows it. All in all, a good experience. The one tweak that would make this deal even better, is routing via Cape Town. I'm based in PE, so with routing via Johannesburg my local pings are always > 39 ms.

10522984112.png
We easily pushing 160-180 down but struggling to get above 10 upload for some reason in the B618. Not sure where to start troubleshooting, it's not the tower as my phone easily reaches 40 up.
 

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
To add to the above here is a comparison on the exact same spot. Default B618 vs Note 10 Lite.

Note 10 Lite:
20201204_171548.jpg
B618:
10519283344.png

Sorry for different testing platforms, couldn't get a good wifi connection to do a test somehow, that's next on my to-do list.
 
  • Love
Reactions: Yuu

ErRoR_nAiK

Active Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2012
Messages
55
Ran into my first "big" hiccup today. Sim got locked after apparently "the tower went down in my area and it failed to reconnect too many times"

9min (waiting time plus chatting to tech person) call with tech support and it was unlocked, waited 20min then restarted the router and I am back in action :D

Considering that I have been able to do just under 400GB in 4 days I don't mind a 40min outage. So far, I am still impressed.
 

B-127

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2009
Messages
239
We easily pushing 160-180 down but struggling to get above 10 upload for some reason in the B618. Not sure where to start troubleshooting, it's not the tower as my phone easily reaches 40 up.
It may be that the frequency being used for upload is slower.

If you have the Huawei Band Tool you could try toggling between these two and see which gives you better results:
LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_1800
LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_2100

You can grab the Huawei Band Tool here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eiC4_l4GjJIQCMFsPKR_8clbcjBD_0Ag/view?usp=sharing
 

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
It may be that the frequency being used for upload is slower.

If you have the Huawei Band Tool you could try toggling between these two and see which gives you better results:
LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_1800
LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_2100

You can grab the Huawei Band Tool here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eiC4_l4GjJIQCMFsPKR_8clbcjBD_0Ag/view?usp=sharing
Been messing with that today, but it still seems to struggle still. Heck for some reason the 1800+2100 (down) throws us 14mbps down XD

Urg need to mess around, I need to try the B612 again and see what that gets.
 

moedawood

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
854

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
More testing!

Before:
10519283344.png

After factory resetting and restarting the B618.

20201204_204417.jpg
20201204_204359.jpg

Note: mybroadband seems to have inconsistent speed tests tonight. It seems like its all over the place, one minute I'm stuck at 50, the next 140. So stopped testing with it and used Ookla.
20201204_204342.jpg
So in conclusion, there was something wrong with our B618 that it was killing the upload. While it's not its full 180+ Download and 40 up, it's quite an improvement to the upload. From 9 to 22.

Not sure exactly why. Tomorrow we will test with the stock router and see if we can push it passed its supposedly 70mbps limit we hit (but 40 upload).

Just hard to test since the weather took a dive and we could be latching onto a new tower (ban soon hype?)
 

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
Please explain how to use this. And is the 2100 band supported of the 22d?
The 22d supports 2100, but when testing the band tool it halved our speed (more like 1/3). So it's situational and your results may vary. It's also as simple as downloading, editing the config file so it has your router log in details and ip, then running the bat file/scripts that you want.

Goodluck!
 

moedawood

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
854
The 22d supports 2100, but when testing the band tool it halved our speed (more like 1/3). So it's situational and your results may vary. It's also as simple as downloading, editing the config file so it has your router log in details and ip, then running the bat file/scripts that you want.

Goodluck!
Thank you. If you want to reverse this, what do you do?
 

ErRoR_nAiK

Active Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2012
Messages
55
@ghostRgg can you share your signal stats? I am curious to see them.

I max out at 90Mbps down and 10Mbps up with these stats:
[LTE+] [RSRP: -84, RSRQ: -12, RSSI: -61, SINR: 5] [2100 MHz, 5 MHz, 44320C]
 

Crumbl0x

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
871
Thank you. If you want to reverse this, what do you do?
In your router's web settings, switching the network type to Auto instead of 4G Only, B38 etc. again will reset to what it currently thinks is best, but if you want to be 100% certain, there should be a script called something like 'show current band' and you can record down what it's currently using
 

ghostRgg

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Messages
1,413
@ghostRgg can you share your signal stats? I am curious to see them.

I max out at 90Mbps down and 10Mbps up with these stats:
[LTE+] [RSRP: -84, RSRQ: -12, RSSI: -61, SINR: 5] [2100 MHz, 5 MHz, 44320C]
I would grab them for you, but my pc is dead, off the top of my head I get around 22-32 SINR. So that's why. I have seen as high as 38 before, I'm sure the tower is basically on our property.

P.S I think we just got banned from their network.
 
  • Wow
Reactions: Yuu
Top