The Official Webafrica Telkom LTE Feedback Thread

master4real

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
120
Thanks this link wasn't loading for me yesterday.
Thanks this link wasn't loading for me yesterday.
I can see my balances via Telkom app. I tried to link my sim with my existing Telkom account but couldn't allow me. It appears as if the sim is still registered in someone's name. When you open the app and it tells you to link with Telkom account, just ignore that option and select the next option.
 

Zuner

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2013
Messages
2,102
I can see my balances via Telkom app. I tried to link my sim with my existing Telkom account but couldn't allow me. It appears as if the sim is still registered in someone's name. When you open the app and it tells you to link with Telkom account, just ignore that option and select the next option.
thanks, this is exactly what i experienced, the sim is in somebody else's name, per the website so i cannot link it to my telkom account, haven't tried the app yet, will do so.
 

ab-user

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
348
Anybody with a scraper / tool to retrieve data allocation balances from the onnet.telkom portal? Ideally to run this via a crontab script and to pull the info into hass.io!
 

Inn3rs3lf

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
1,914
Ordered on Wed. Received it yesterday morning. No activation as of yet. Makes you wonder if it is going to connect at all, or if youve done something wrong.

Issue is, we are in a small town with one tower for Telkom (I am in the zone), yet I cannot connect to it manually. My Cell C Package from Axxess connected within a few minutes. So who knows with this yo.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,988
Ordered on Wed. Received it yesterday morning. No activation as of yet. Makes you wonder if it is going to connect at all, or if youve done something wrong.

Issue is, we are in a small town with one tower for Telkom (I am in the zone), yet I cannot connect to it manually. My Cell C Package from Axxess connected within a few minutes. So who knows with this yo.
The Telkom simcards take a day or two to activate. For me with Afrihost it took 2 and a half days.

@Zuner You can view balances via onnet.telkom.co.za from the simcard but you can not register it. These are resold simcards and are registered to Afrohost. You will see the person Gregory Payne. He is the co owner of Afrihost as far as I know so it's probably registered in his name or the company name.

They also forced the spend limit to R0 so people don't run up a bill in their name and since you can register these simcards you can't top up, buy or change stuff on the number which is fair.
 

Zuner

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2013
Messages
2,102
The Telkom simcards take a day or two to activate. For me with Afrihost it took 2 and a half days.

@Zuner You can view balances via onnet.telkom.co.za from the simcard but you can not register it. These are resold simcards and are registered to Afrohost. You will see the person Gregory Payne. He is the co owner of Afrihost as far as I know so it's probably registered in his name or the company name.

They also forced the spend limit to R0 so people don't run up a bill in their name and since you can register these simcards you can't top up, buy or change stuff on the number which is fair.
i see, thanks this saved me a lot of trouble i was about to take on trying to get it to work. its for the parents so i'd have wasted a lot of time remotely trying to get it right.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,988
i see, thanks this saved me a lot of trouble i was about to take on trying to get it to work. its for the parents so i'd have wasted a lot of time remotely trying to get it right.
I have not tried to direct recharge or bundle purchase using credit card but that should work. You just can't register the profile so only onnet.telkom.co.za works and obviously you can't buy bundles to add to the account as you are not the account holder Afrihost is and they set it to R0.
 

Inn3rs3lf

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
1,914
So it has finally been activated. Seems like most, when you receive the invoice, it activates. That's what happened to me.
 

ProAsm

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
2,096
Top