TP-Link Home Wifi Mesh - Noob questions

Nomad18

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a Noob when it comes to IT hardware and is hoping to get a basic understanding of the differences between the TP-Link Home Mesh systems. Our house is about 400m^2 with solid brick walls. We're looking to cover the entire home with a wifi mesh system. We are 4 people in the house and internet is used for both work and personal (streaming and normal browsing etc). We have a 100mb down and 50mb up fibre line. My questions are:
  1. Do you use your normal fibre router (the one which came with my fibre installation) in a Mesh system or is one of the Mesh units the "main" router?
  2. The main differences I could find between systems are listed below. Can you explain what this means / recommend the best fit?
    1. Deco M9 Plus
      1. AC2200 Wifi speed
      2. 8 internal antennas
      3. Tri-Band wifi capacity
      4. 2× Gigabit Ports
    2. Deco M4
      1. AC1200 Wifi Speed
      2. 2 Internal antennas
      3. Dual-Band wifi capacity
      4. 2× Gigabit Ports
    3. Deco E4
      1. AC1200 Wifi Speed
      2. 2 Internal antennas
      3. Dual-Band wifi capacity
      4. 2× 10/100 Mbps Ports
Price differences between these units are quite substantial, so I'd like to know whether its worthwhile to go for the M9 or if not whether the M4 is significantly better than the E4.

Any feedback or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Tim_vb

I use E4's and they work great (easy 80Mbps) in a house with lots of thick brick walls. I'm not planning in going over 100Mbps in the next year or two. However its also important to use ethernet backhaul where possible to free up Wifi spectrum. I would think this becomes more important the faster and lower latency you want to go. Mesh Wifi is still wifi and can't magically cut through two double brick structural walls without any losses

also check out this thread Wifi mesh

Romito

Expert Member