Transfer from Mweb to new ISP with minimal downtime

Gavster

Hi all,

Im a graphic designer so bare with me if I don't get the lingo.

Essentially I have a client that I am building a new Wordpress site for. They currently have hosting with Mweb and would like to transfer to a new ISP as Mweb doesn't seem forthcoming with the change to Wordpress.

They do have a lot of traffic on e mail and so the major concern is how long will they be down for ? Mweb states it can take anywhere from 3 days to 3 weeks and that won't work for them.

Any advice on how to do this smoothly with minimal downtime would be greatly appreciated!.

Many thanks

paul5186

Expert Member
First things first, get some proper dns hosting. Setup all the records and then get mweb to update your domains nameserves to the new servers.

Gavster

Thanks Paul,

Forgive my ignorance but do you mean set up the new hosting package and then get them to transfer the domain across ?

Thanks

padjakkels

Join domains.co.za. they make a backup from your current website and restore it on their servers, which include the email accounts. They can even do it over a weekend. Email down time will be max 30 minutes, not more. They have the best and friendly support.

paul5186

Expert Member
Thanks Paul,

Forgive my ignorance but do you mean set up the new hosting package and then get them to transfer the domain across ?

Thanks

Well there are a couple options.

1) You keep their email with Mweb. You just ask them to point the A records of the domain to the new webhost. That way the client will still have their email with Mweb, but can host their website at any provider

2) You move the entire domain away from Mweb inc hosting and email. I would suggest Google apps for email, $5 per user per month.
I would always say keep DNS separate from the webhost, and the domain also separate. That way you are not tied into any one provider and it is easier to move/migrate.