Using bank card out of country

Onizuka0701

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
25
I bank with ABSA and I'm going to Kazakhstan tomorrow night.

Is there any procedure to follow to stop my card from getting stopped while I'm there?
 

Lord Nikon6

Expert Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
1,402
I bank with ABSA and I'm going to Kazakhstan tomorrow night.

Is there any procedure to follow to stop my card from getting stopped while I'm there?
For credit card you need to either use the app to enable the card for international use, or call their call centre. Debit card I am not so sure.
 

braniac

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
129
I bank with ABSA and I'm going to Kazakhstan tomorrow night.

Is there any procedure to follow to stop my card from getting stopped while I'm there?
I'm with different bank but needed to activate my card for use outside of South Africa. Did it on the banks app though.
 

Daruk

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
39,500
If nothing in the app, then call the bank. Really simple.
 

rh1

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
709
I bank with ABSA and I'm going to Kazakhstan tomorrow night.

Is there any procedure to follow to stop my card from getting stopped while I'm there?
ABSA? Dont worry, I'm with Standard Bank. Not sure why though. Just been to lazy.
 

Onizuka0701

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
25
Have had no problems with ABSA so no real reason to change.

Its my debit card, will try and find out from the bank today.
 

Daruk

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
39,500
Have had no problems with ABSA so no real reason to change.

Its my debit card, will try and find out from the bank today.
Yoh, ABSA people have been robbed blind in the past. Seems to be quiet lately.
 

Onizuka0701

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
25
Seems I have to change my card from a 5 number pin to a 4 number for some reason.

They also have to note that its going to be used overseas or it will be stopped.
 

ShaunyCT

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
889
You can change it on the app and their online banking.

Some countries use 4 and 5 digits and some just use 4 digits.
 
Last edited:

Onizuka0701

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
25
You can change it on the app and their online banking.

Some countries use 4 and 5 digits and some just use 4 digits. You can change your pin online as well.
Thanks sat there at the teller activating the card on my app like a dumbass...

So all should be well now
 
Top