Vodacom 300GB + 400GB Feedback

NeonNinja

Neon Resident
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
24,787
Is the 400gb deal for R349 5g ready or do I need to call in and activate? I tested my sim and 5g speeds are quite constant (5Mbps) and terrible. Even lte is faster. I tested on on my samsung device and huawei modem. Results were consistent.
Call and find out and let us know.
 

NeonNinja

Neon Resident
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
24,787
Apparently 5g is activated but I cannot understand why the speeds are so damn slow compared to lte. No help with the call centre unfortunately.
The 5G capable tower is far away maybe or not the required frequency (device dependant).
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
20,862
I suspect the increase on the base price.

I get my invoice on the 6th so will see.

Just checked the bill so far in the app.

Price still the same.

They increased the base price with 3% but also increased the discount to cover the increase so the price is still R348.99

Will see what the final invoice shows because I have another contract that also increased.
 

Dan C

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
33,495
Just checked the bill so far in the app.

Price still the same.

They increased the base price with 3% but also increased the discount to cover the increase so the price is still R348.99

Will see what the final invoice shows because I have another contract that also increased.
Mine has gone from R299 to R332.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
20,862
Mine has gone from R299 to R332.

So this is what my app show now.

Screenshot 2022-06-06 173142.png

This is what is was last month from the invoice.

Screenshot 2022-06-06 173221.png

So the base price went up but the discount for me also went up and that covered the cost. I'm happy about that because I did get an email about the 3% increase.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

B-127

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2009
Messages
314
Mine hasn't updated yet. Still at R299 for the 300GB Home Internet top up contract.
 

Inzaghi007

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
365
Weird because I get like 380Mbps on 5G with the sim only plan.
Not sure what the heck is going on. I'm in a coverage area as well. Maybe I will try the testing the sim further away in another 5g coverage area.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
20,862
Not sure what the heck is going on. I'm in a coverage area as well. Maybe I will try the testing the sim further away in another 5g coverage area.

In fact when I look at the coverage map it doesn't show any 5G coverage for me on Vodacom but i have 5G coverage and it's okay.

Screenshot 2022-06-06 193427.png
 
Top