Web Squad ISP

Gimli_

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
808
Hi, thought I read the other day that they were now planning to peer at JINX, CINX and DINX (could have the story wrong). Has that happened yet, and if so would it mean they will now peer for free?
 

Gimli_

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
808
Hi, thought I read the other day that they were now planning to peer at JINX, CINX and DINX (could have the story wrong). Has that happened yet, and if so would it mean they will now peer for free?
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,846
Hi, thought I read the other day that they were now planning to peer at JINX, CINX and DINX (could have the story wrong). Has that happened yet, and if so would it mean they will now peer for free?

There have been major changes at Openserve of late, would be nice if they do change their peering policy too. The current policy is still the same document that was released in 2016 (and we tick all the boxes on that document- you’re welcome to google it- Openserve peering policy). We send through a new peering application every 3-6 months (yes we are persistent) and we did send a nudge today again... Some prefixes (Telkom ISP and Telkom mobile) are accessible directly over NAP, however all SAIX prefixes are excluded (for some weird reason).

Fundamentally, it favours them for us to peer; they would have the shortest possible handover to our network in each region, minimising how much traffic they need to transit over their core network.

Edit: link to SAIX Peering Policy: https://webreach.openserve.co.za/peering-policy
 
Last edited:

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,846
Hello @websquadza how long does the migration take.
MTS was supposed to release the line today or by end of day.
Will I be effected in anyway?

Which FNO? If you still have internet from MTS, that means the line hasn’t been released yet (usually a FNO issue) and chances are you’ll be released later tonight.
 

HowTo

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
3,250
Which FNO? If you still have internet from MTS, that means the line hasn’t been released yet (usually a FNO issue) and chances are you’ll be released later tonight.
vuma trenched.
Modem was showing red led indicating no internet.
Reboot fiber ont. Shows I have internet but none.
Any settings I need to do.
Asus RT-AX86U On mobile currently. Can't see my email
Could be Vuma side?
 
Last edited:

HowTo

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
3,250
Just another question
If you opt from 100/100 to 200/200
Thus the speed increase Instant or 1 Month notice period.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,846
vuma trenched.
Modem was showing red led indicating no internet.
Reboot fiber ont. Shows I have internet but none.
Any settings I need to do.
Asus RT-AX86U On mobile currently. Can't see my email
Could be Vuma side?
Just another question
If you opt from 100/100 to 200/200
Thus the speed increase Instant or 1 Month notice period.

Morning. Can you drop me a plum with your details. I’ll get the team to check on the status of your order.

With regards to the new speed, we’ll activate based on your new speed.
 

HowTo

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
3,250
Yes not the question I ask.
If I opt to increase Speed to 200/200; currently on 100/100.
What can I inspect; 30 day notice or not. Pay pro-rata for the remainder of month?
 
Last edited:

HowTo

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
3,250
Morning. Can you drop me a plum with your details. I’ll get the team to check on the status of your order.

With regards to the new speed, we’ll activate based on your new speed.
Martha Moto has my all my info. She dealt with my switch over to WebSquad.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,846
Yes not the question I ask.
If I opt to increase Speed to 200/200; currently on 100/100.
What can I inspect; 30 day notice or not. Pay prorata for the remainder of month?
Your order will be activated on 200 and you will be billed pro-rata.

Martha Moto has my all my info. She dealt with my switch over to WebSquad.

Sorry, I don’t know handles and client names - so I just need your details to follow up. We have quite a few inbound migrations.
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
691
Code:
1 core.as-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za        0%    2   0.4ms     2.1     0.4     3.8
2 core.pe-xe-ip01.jb1.za.ws.net.za   0%    2   0.8ms     1.5     0.8     2.2
3 165-65-148-197.as37497.za.net      0%    2   0.7ms     1.5     0.7     2.2
4 161-64-148-197.as37497.za.net      0%    2   0.5ms     0.8     0.5     1.1
5 41-79-249-245.static.pccwglob...   0%    2   1.4ms     1.8     1.4     2.1
6 hundredge0-4-0-0.br02.sin03.p...   0%    2 115.8ms   115.9   115.8   115.9
7 hundredge0-4-0-0.br02.sin03.p...   0%    2 116.2ms   116.2   116.2   116.2
8 vpls.ten0-0-0-20-609.br02.sin...   0%    1 115.9ms   115.9   115.9   115.9
9 110.34.166.182.static.krypt.com    0%    1 115.3ms   115.3   115.3   115.3

That's pretty impressive latency to singapore from joburg on websquad, test done from looking glass. Of course, it is a best case route, most of them aren't this good.
 

powermzii

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
4,860
Code:
1 core.as-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za        0%    2   0.4ms     2.1     0.4     3.8
2 core.pe-xe-ip01.jb1.za.ws.net.za   0%    2   0.8ms     1.5     0.8     2.2
3 165-65-148-197.as37497.za.net      0%    2   0.7ms     1.5     0.7     2.2
4 161-64-148-197.as37497.za.net      0%    2   0.5ms     0.8     0.5     1.1
5 41-79-249-245.static.pccwglob...   0%    2   1.4ms     1.8     1.4     2.1
6 hundredge0-4-0-0.br02.sin03.p...   0%    2 115.8ms   115.9   115.8   115.9
7 hundredge0-4-0-0.br02.sin03.p...   0%    2 116.2ms   116.2   116.2   116.2
8 vpls.ten0-0-0-20-609.br02.sin...   0%    1 115.9ms   115.9   115.9   115.9
9 110.34.166.182.static.krypt.com    0%    1 115.3ms   115.3   115.3   115.3

That's pretty impressive latency to singapore from joburg on websquad, test done from looking glass. Of course, it is a best case route, most of them aren't this good.
Thats very impressive - CISP is giving 316ms to that IP (for comparison)
 

HowTo

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
3,250
IPv6
My router settings, what is required of Web Squad.
I'm new to this.
 

Attachments

  • IPv6.jpg
    IPv6.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 23
Top