Web Squad ISP

Zodiak

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
894
Changed my DNS to Google on my Asus Router vs. ISP and all of a sudden started to work, is there perhaps a DNS related issue on your side?
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,941
Changed my DNS to Google on my Asus Router vs. ISP and all of a sudden started to work, is there perhaps a DNS related issue on your side?
Nope- quad1 and 9 are all good. What DNS were you getting before changing?
 

Zodiak

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
894
It just said ISP allocated as an option and then I chose Google Fast DNS and now it works, no clue
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,941
It just said ISP allocated as an option and then I chose Google Fast DNS and now it works, no clue
That's odd, more likely something with the router? What router are you using? I see we were handing you a Google DNS.
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
938
... smilling... loving the speed... Family can do whatever they need to while I work, doing whatever I need to... my slowest points now are actually my not so slow Unifi AP's, having cabling on one redone today as I had packet loss (instead off cable connecting it meshed with another unit) and we could see the speed problem, where as in the past you'd never know as the ADSL was like 20Mbps if you lucky.

Thanks Websquad.

G
 

craig1606

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
200
I have both Vumatel Aerial and Openserve coverage in my area. Websquad has been my ISP for 18 months now and I am very happy with the service. I am NOT even contemplating moving to another ISP.
I am currently on 100mbps Vumatel but I want to move to Openserve as most people in my neighbourhood are currently on Vumatel and I can get a higher speeds on Openserve for similar money.

Vumatel Aerial disconnects daily around midnight (which is an issue for the 2 idiot gamers in the house) and is quite unstable in my neighbourhood. All my neighbours complain at the same time when the Vumatel network goes down. This happens a few times a month.

I am looking for:
1. Advise on which network is more stable / reliable. I realise that this a highly subjective question. Maybe I should run both simultaneously for a couple months and test.
2. What is the process to migrate to Openserve if I decide to make the jump. Sales idea of first cancelling the Vumatel line and then getting the Openserve line installed does not work for me.

I tried speaking to logically to sales today and got frustrated as they were stuck on the fact that
1. I had to cancel the Vumatel line before moving to the Openserve line. If you have ever worked in IT you know that this will never work and we will not uninterrupted have connectivity.
2. If we somehow got both lines installed I would have to pay for both. I dont have an issue with this but sales does.

I am open to any suggestions and advice from the current Websquad customers and @websquadza please.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,941
I have both Vumatel Aerial and Openserve coverage in my area. Websquad has been my ISP for 18 months now and I am very happy with the service. I am NOT even contemplating moving to another ISP.
I am currently on 100mbps Vumatel but I want to move to Openserve as most people in my neighbourhood are currently on Vumatel and I can get a higher speeds on Openserve for similar money.

Vumatel Aerial disconnects daily around midnight (which is an issue for the 2 idiot gamers in the house) and is quite unstable in my neighbourhood. All my neighbours complain at the same time when the Vumatel network goes down. This happens a few times a month.

I am looking for:
1. Advise on which network is more stable / reliable. I realise that this a highly subjective question. Maybe I should run both simultaneously for a couple months and test.
2. What is the process to migrate to Openserve if I decide to make the jump. Sales idea of first cancelling the Vumatel line and then getting the Openserve line installed does not work for me.

I tried speaking to logically to sales today and got frustrated as they were stuck on the fact that
1. I had to cancel the Vumatel line before moving to the Openserve line. If you have ever worked in IT you know that this will never work and we will not uninterrupted have connectivity.
2. If we somehow got both lines installed I would have to pay for both. I dont have an issue with this but sales does.

I am open to any suggestions and advice from the current Websquad customers and @websquadza please.
Happy to assist and this is a question we're seeing more frequently.

1.1. Both networks are great, but Openserve definitely has an edge these days in terms of stability and performance. Both use similar technologies for the last mile (GPON). Vumatel's maintenance still edges Openserve out (just slightly) - so it's a close call. We have fewer Openserve maintenance issues though.
1.2. Sales was right there, unfortunately these are two different FNOs and we are bound by their commercials. So Vumatel have a strict 30 day cancellation clause - which means we are billed for the 30 days whether the line is used or not. The first step is to place a cancellation for this line. Openserve installs are generally very quick (<5 days from order) - this means our team would usually co-ordinate the installation date closer to the termination date of the Vuma service - this minimises the overlap. Given that we are unable to control the exact date of Openserve's install, we recommend a 5-10 day window which will include a short overlap of services.
2.1 You don't need to have the line terminated, but we would recommend placing the Vumatel cancellation -this is a date we have control over and we want to minimise your overlapping billing. You can place the Openserve order with us at the same time and ask the team to co-ordinate this switch for you to ensure you have zero downtime
2.2 You're one of the few clients who doesn't have an issue with this - so they've been trained to minimise the overlap - but we always make sure you don't have any downtime. I chatted to the agent you spoke to and explained the situation. If you would like to install the Openserve now, pending the 30 day Vuma cancellation, you can let us know and we'll order the Openserve asap.

Let me know if you need any assistance with this move?
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,941
... smilling... loving the speed... Family can do whatever they need to while I work, doing whatever I need to... my slowest points now are actually my not so slow Unifi AP's, having cabling on one redone today as I had packet loss (instead off cable connecting it meshed with another unit) and we could see the speed problem, where as in the past you'd never know as the ADSL was like 20Mbps if you lucky.

Thanks Websquad.

G
Thanks for the great feedback! Always appreciate it!
 

abudabi

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
3,955
I have both Vumatel Aerial and Openserve coverage in my area. Websquad has been my ISP for 18 months now and I am very happy with the service. I am NOT even contemplating moving to another ISP.
I am currently on 100mbps Vumatel but I want to move to Openserve as most people in my neighbourhood are currently on Vumatel and I can get a higher speeds on Openserve for similar money.

Vumatel Aerial disconnects daily around midnight (which is an issue for the 2 idiot gamers in the house) and is quite unstable in my neighbourhood. All my neighbours complain at the same time when the Vumatel network goes down. This happens a few times a month.

I am looking for:
1. Advise on which network is more stable / reliable. I realise that this a highly subjective question. Maybe I should run both simultaneously for a couple months and test.
2. What is the process to migrate to Openserve if I decide to make the jump. Sales idea of first cancelling the Vumatel line and then getting the Openserve line installed does not work for me.

I tried speaking to logically to sales today and got frustrated as they were stuck on the fact that
1. I had to cancel the Vumatel line before moving to the Openserve line. If you have ever worked in IT you know that this will never work and we will not uninterrupted have connectivity.
2. If we somehow got both lines installed I would have to pay for both. I dont have an issue with this but sales does.

I am open to any suggestions and advice from the current Websquad customers and @websquadza please.

I did this some time ago. Migrated from Vuma to Openserve and couldn't be happier. Websquad did a stellar job with the switchover. I can't recall anything going wrong... So if there were any issues they must have been minor :)
 

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
3,042
Most homes wouldn't need this kind of connection nor have the hardware capable to run at 10 gbps speeds.
Remember , some houses (like mine) has multiple 4K devices.

65inch 4K HDR x3 (1 in lounge, 1 in braai area, 1 in my room)
I also have a My cellphone, A tablet, a file server, my home PC, my Work laptop (thats just me)
My brother has a Cellphone, a tablet and his Home Gaming PC (which has gaming Screen 4k too)
My dad has his work laptop that he uses (he probably uses the internet least, mostly teams or youtube or training vids)

Yes we do have multiple AP's and Multiple network points around the house.
 

Cactus

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
1,618
Remember , some houses (like mine) has multiple 4K devices.

65inch 4K HDR x3 (1 in lounge, 1 in braai area, 1 in my room)
I also have a My cellphone, A tablet, a file server, my home PC, my Work laptop (thats just me)
My brother has a Cellphone, a tablet and his Home Gaming PC (which has gaming Screen 4k too)
My dad has his work laptop that he uses (he probably uses the internet least, mostly teams or youtube or training vids)

Yes we do have multiple AP's and Multiple network points around the house.
Your household doesn't actually sound that intense at all. A 100 Mbps connection can handle all that, easy.
That said, innovation is good, and I too hope for a 1Gbps OS connection some day :thumbsup:
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,941
10gbps tests by Vuma

Why they not informing or contacting the current 1GBPS customers
There has been no official comms from Vumatel with any ISPs in this regard - so unlikely that you will hear anything at this point - but. There are no commercials for a 10G product from Vumatel (or 2.5/5G for that matter). If anything does come of this, besides fluff pieces for MyBB, we will send out more info.

Remember , some houses (like mine) has multiple 4K devices.

65inch 4K HDR x3 (1 in lounge, 1 in braai area, 1 in my room)
I also have a My cellphone, A tablet, a file server, my home PC, my Work laptop (thats just me)
My brother has a Cellphone, a tablet and his Home Gaming PC (which has gaming Screen 4k too)
My dad has his work laptop that he uses (he probably uses the internet least, mostly teams or youtube or training vids)

Yes we do have multiple AP's and Multiple network points around the house.
1G sounds plenty for this kind of usage... But yes, it would be great to break the 1G barrier in SA. It would also be great for local cloud to be able to deliver 1G speeds - there are still too many 1G only servers running services locally, which means we're putting the cart in front of the horse with 1G+ services.

I'd be much more excited for a 2.5G product than 10G to the home. You can get prosumer grade hardware affordably that can make the most of 2.5G. 10G needs some serious metal to work well.
 
Top