Web Squad ISP

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
I’ve picked up that AWS is sending us all traffic via JHB. If you dropped a few packets in the past few mins, it’s because we tried to force all inbound AWS traffic to our CPT peering interface which did not go as planned.

We’ve escalated to AWS network ops for feedback on what they’re seeing from their end.. This will help drop Cape Town latency to +- 150ms from EU.
Great stuff. Thanks for all the help. When will this be implemented in terms of the " packet loss issue"
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
@SFW007 Are you still getting packet loss?

@websquadza tested this morning and still packet loss and ping spikes in Fortnite UK servers. Going to try and test out Apex Legends on PS4 and see their IP's as they are servers in the UK and EU region
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,357
@SFW007 Are you still getting packet loss?

@websquadza tested this morning and still packet loss and ping spikes in Fortnite UK servers. Going to try and test out Apex Legends on PS4 and see their IP's as they are servers in the UK and EU region

Morning. How are you seeing this packet loss? Is it reported in game or are you running tests?
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
Morning. How are you seeing this packet loss? Is it reported in game or are you running tests?
Morning in game packet loss and spikes, never ran tests as its the same IP's. That is why i want to test Apex as the server regions are the same, can only check them after work today
Want to find out if its only me thats having these issues

Are there any UK Ip's that i can MTR? I can remote into my PC at home?
 

SFW007

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,571
Morning in game packet loss and spikes, never ran tests as its the same IP's. That is why i want to test Apex as the server regions are the same, can only check them after work today
Want to find out if its only me thats having these issues

Are there any UK Ip's that i can MTR? I can remote into my PC at home?

You are not the only one , i have experienced this only on fibre(since moving to fibre) and i have been playing sometime
I very rarely had it on Vodacom's LTE wired or wifi
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
You are not the only one , i have experienced this only on fibre(since moving to fibre) and i have been playing sometime
I very rarely had it on Vodacom's LTE wired or wifi
Ok just checking. Same. Played on Telkom LTE and had no packet loss. Only got my Fibre PS4 setup done this week and now experienced this.... That is why i want to test Apex and see their IP's maybe its a routing to UK
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
85.195.100.199 - Apex Legends IP on PS4 @websquadza

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 139 | 139 | 0 | 28 | 55 | 38 |
| as-vuma.cp-gwf-03.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 2 | 47 | 65 | 46 |
| core.as-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 50 | 67 | 1 |
| core.cr-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 49 | 56 | 1 |
| core.pe-xe-ip01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 48 | 57 | 1 |
| 197.157.79.33 - 0 | 139 | 139 | 2 | 48 | 66 | 9 |
| No response from host - 100 | 139 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| agr1-gwf-cr2-gi0-0-1.wolcomm.net - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 12 | 106 | 2 |
| No response from host - 100 | 139 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| cr1-lhx-et42.wolcomm.net - 1 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 158 | 633 | 207 |
| agr1-lhx-cr1-te0-1-0.wolcomm.net - 1 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 167 | 224 | 154 |
| ldn-b3-link.telia.net - 0 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 156 | 216 | 143 |
| ldn-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 139 | 138 | 160 | 195 | 244 | 190 |
| prs-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 186 | 242 | 178 |
| ffm-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 193 | 246 | 176 |
| ffm-b12-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 177 | 259 | 187 |
|hosteurope-ic-324230-ffm-b12.c.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 175 | 230 | 187 |
|gw-heg.meitner.router.frankfurt.de.velia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 184 | 224 | 178 |
| dabuk28.frankfurt.de.velia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 198 | 306 | 175 |
| 85.195.100.199 - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 201 | 214 | 171 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )
 

wingnut771

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
13,616
85.195.100.199 - Apex Legends IP on PS4 @websquadza

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 139 | 139 | 0 | 28 | 55 | 38 |
| as-vuma.cp-gwf-03.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 2 | 47 | 65 | 46 |
| core.as-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 50 | 67 | 1 |
| core.cr-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 49 | 56 | 1 |
| core.pe-xe-ip01.cp1.za.ws.net.za - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 48 | 57 | 1 |
| 197.157.79.33 - 0 | 139 | 139 | 2 | 48 | 66 | 9 |
| No response from host - 100 | 139 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| agr1-gwf-cr2-gi0-0-1.wolcomm.net - 0 | 139 | 139 | 1 | 12 | 106 | 2 |
| No response from host - 100 | 139 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| cr1-lhx-et42.wolcomm.net - 1 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 158 | 633 | 207 |
| agr1-lhx-cr1-te0-1-0.wolcomm.net - 1 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 167 | 224 | 154 |
| ldn-b3-link.telia.net - 0 | 139 | 138 | 141 | 156 | 216 | 143 |
| ldn-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 139 | 138 | 160 | 195 | 244 | 190 |
| prs-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 186 | 242 | 178 |
| ffm-bb4-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 193 | 246 | 176 |
| ffm-b12-link.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 177 | 259 | 187 |
|hosteurope-ic-324230-ffm-b12.c.telia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 175 | 230 | 187 |
|gw-heg.meitner.router.frankfurt.de.velia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 160 | 184 | 224 | 178 |
| dabuk28.frankfurt.de.velia.net - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 198 | 306 | 175 |
| 85.195.100.199 - 0 | 138 | 138 | 161 | 201 | 214 | 171 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )
start with your router, 55ms to there is terrible.
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
ping to your router shouldn't be more than 1ms:
View attachment 683137
All is Cat5 E

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 41 | 41 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )
 

wingnut771

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
13,616
All is Cat5 E

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 41 | 41 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )
what changed then? that looks normal now.
 

Cowboy619

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
864
what changed then? that looks normal now.
Nothing. Didnt change anything? For some odd reason it's only Fortnite UK servers where I have packet loss and ping spikes from 160ms to 185 even 200ms. The previous test was to Apex in EU Amsterdam servers no packet loss but had that 50
 

wingnut771

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
13,616
Nothing. Didnt change anything? For some odd reason it's only Fortnite UK servers where I have packet loss and ping spikes from 160ms to 185 even 200ms. The previous test was to Apex in EU Amsterdam servers no packet loss but had that 50
maybe your router then, try switching it off and on again to clear the buffers before trying next time.
 
Top