What the Start Menu will look like in the Windows 10 Anniversary Update

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
25,312
so Linux support, that's good, makes more Open source software available on MS,
and a few changes to the start menu, relatively minor

wonder if this will be available as a stand alone upgrade, IE if you have a PC not connected to internet,
it can be loaded like a service pack used to be loaded.

as long as all the spying software can be disabled Im happy....
 

LazyLion

King of de Jungle
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
103,976
So where is the animation?
Don't publish an article talking about an animation and then not show that animation.

EDIT: Doesn't really look all that different to me?
 

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
25,312
EDIT: Doesn't really look all that different to me?

+1 looks almost the same, except adding linux support.....
wonder how this might work? will you be able to run scripts and such in windows now?

doe this mean that windows finally adds open source to what it can do?
 

PsyWulf

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
11,922
so Linux support, that's good, makes more Open source software available on MS,
and a few changes to the start menu, relatively minor

wonder if this will be available as a stand alone upgrade, IE if you have a PC not connected to internet,
it can be loaded like a service pack used to be loaded.

as long as all the spying software can be disabled Im happy....

Bash,not linux

So you can use either Powershell,CMD or Bash for your scripting/command line needs
 

Napalm2880

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
2,654
They're hiding windows settings so deeply now, it's sometimes easier just to go and play with the registry entries.
 

atomcrusher

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
4,208
So where is the animation?
Don't publish an article talking about an animation and then not show that animation.

EDIT: Doesn't really look all that different to me?
My impression as well. Much ado about Bogger-all i.m.o.
 

Grouter

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
4,978
Change start menu config = yet another 4.5 Gb windows re-install. Makes sense. :wtf:
 

sajunky

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
13,124
New icon, lol. After two official releases search still doesn't bring desired results, just repeats what it is typed already...
 

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
27,876
Change start menu config = yet another 4.5 Gb windows re-install. Makes sense. :wtf:
Have you actually watched Build 2016? Will bring much more then a updated Start Menu the media seems to be focusing on.

New icon, lol. After two official releases search still doesn't bring desired results, just repeats what it is typed already...

You have a problem with your index?
 

Drifter

Honorary Master
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
20,901
So where is the animation?
Don't publish an article talking about an animation and then not show that animation.

EDIT: Doesn't really look all that different to me?

OK, it's not just me then.
 

Arthur

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
25,794
No, pal I don't know what you are talking about.
What I wrote is a fact. Search brings repeated output of my typing like a carrot, completely useless.
You must have the sajunky version. My Search works well. Use it at least one or two dozen times a day.
 

sajunky

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
13,124
You must have the sajunky version. My Search works well. Use it at least one or two dozen times a day.
Such arrogant statement can only come from proudly MS Surface Pro luser.

BTW, Using second official release of Windows 10. For testing only ... Not usable for normal use.
 
Last edited:

Adenoid Hynkel

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
4,482
Such arrogant statement can only come from proudly MS Surface Pro luser.

BTW, Using second official release of Windows 10. For testing only ... Not usable for nor normal use.

Huh? Not suitable for normal use?
Been working on Windows 10 since preview. No issues this side. My search works as it should too. Am sure your install is borked
 

AlphaJohn

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
9,981
Classic shell, never use windows without it, and again looks like I am still gonna run it.

Don't mind the bash support, at least now my users won't look at me funny when I try and remember to use \ instead of / when I'm running commandline.

Now if they really wanna make me happy they must pop vi/vim on every Windows box as part of said update.
 

sajunky

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
13,124
Huh? Not suitable for normal use?
Been working on Windows 10 since preview. No issues this side. My search works as it should too. Am sure your install is borked
Which side? Examples?
Widows 10 search doesn't pickup even basic commands during typing.
Maybe you don't know how search should work after all....
 
Last edited:
Top