Where you can get your Smart ID card once Home Affairs reopens applications

Hanno Labuschagne

Journalist
Staff member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
2,262

Where you can get your Smart ID card once Home Affairs reopens applications

South Africans can ease the process of getting a Smart ID card or passport by applying for it at one of 26 bank branches across the country.

The plastic Smart ID is replacing the conventional paper ID booklet and offers several technological advantages over its predecessor.

This includes built-in public key infrastructure (PKI), as well as the on-chip storage of biometric data, which means fingerprints can be matched to the card offline.
 

mypetcow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
217
The ehome DHA portal is currently closed because of Covid19.
We wouldn’t want the server to get sick now would we? It’s just common sense to disable IT infrastructure so it can social distance itself for a while.

My sneaky suspicion is that the ehome software is so trivial that they have no way to keep it online and accept applications while at the same time only leave them on pending until they know when they can actually process them and only then flip the switch and have them automatically make bookings etc. Better turn the server off entirely to be safe
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
55,786
So the same 26 bank branches its been for the last how many years?

So how many years is many years in your mind? Is it like 1 or 1 & half year? :unsure:

2018 it was 13 branches:

2019 even less at 12:
 

RandomGeek

Expert Member
Joined
May 14, 2015
Messages
1,884
Still closed after the Prez's speech or are they open now - still closed I guess, nothing was mentioned?
 

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
95,618
So how many years is many years in your mind? Is it like 1 or 1 & half year? :unsure:

2018 it was 13 branches:

2019 even less at 12:
Ahhh then I stand corrected...

I'm just jaded cos the list of branches in kzn is monumentally limited..
 

Swa

Honorary Master
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
28,016
So the same 26 bank branches its been for the last how many years?
This is useless for most till they roll it out to non major centres. If I lose my ID I'm screwed. They should just contract with Capitec which have had the infrastructure in place for decades now.
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
55,786
This is useless for most till they roll it out to non major centres. If I lose my ID I'm screwed. They should just contract with Capitec which have had the infrastructure in place for decades now.

What required infrastructure have Capitec had? The real infrastructure required, being unused floor space (which the big 4 have as their legacy branches require less people and there is thus unused space) for the DHA employees and the public and the equipment and furniture is not in abundance in Capitec branches, as Capitec has been efficient in that area.

I thought most South Africans are now in urban areas, so major centres are important for coverage.

 

Swa

Honorary Master
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
28,016
What required infrastructure have Capitec had? The real infrastructure required, being unused floor space (which the big 4 have as their legacy branches require less people and there is thus unused space) for the DHA employees and the public and the equipment and furniture is not in abundance in Capitec branches, as Capitec has been efficient in that area.

I thought most South Africans are now in urban areas, so major centres are important for coverage.

Capitec has had biometrics for ages. The others have just recently started playing catchup.
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
28,856
Capitec has had biometrics for ages. The others have just recently started playing catchup.
Pretty sure I had to use biometrics when I first opened an FNB account in 2015.
Most of the other banks are probably using it for the last couple of years as well, biometrics was the buzzword at one point.
 

Martin_P

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
128
ABSA Durban Pinetown has been an upcoming branch for the at 5 years lol.

South African Born Citizens only still I guess.
 

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
95,618
What required infrastructure have Capitec had? The real infrastructure required, being unused floor space (which the big 4 have as their legacy branches require less people and there is thus unused space) for the DHA employees and the public and the equipment and furniture is not in abundance in Capitec branches, as Capitec has been efficient in that area.

I thought most South Africans are now in urban areas, so major centres are important for coverage.


I think its a combination of floor space etc at the banks, but the biggest hold up has been the DHA employees themselves as far as I understand it. There are not enough DHA employees for this to be rolled out big bang, and they don't seem to be fixing that problem.
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
55,786
I think its a combination of floor space etc at the banks, but the biggest hold up has been the DHA employees themselves as far as I understand it. There are not enough DHA employees for this to be rolled out big bang, and they don't seem to be fixing that problem.

You are correct about the employee bit, they have to employ people. I was just addressing Swa about what Capitec lacks specifically, that is less of a factor with the other banks.
 
Last edited:

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
55,786
Pretty sure I had to use biometrics when I first opened an FNB account in 2015.
Most of the other banks are probably using it for the last couple of years as well, biometrics was the buzzword at one point.

Capitec used biometrics when I opened my account in Aug 2008.
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
55,786
Capitec has had biometrics for ages. The others have just recently started playing catchup.

Sure, but that is not how this works, they don't use bank equipment, they use DHA equipment. The only thing the banks really provide is floor space.
 
Top