Which laptop brand do you currently use?

Which laptop brand do you currently use?

  • Lenovo

    Votes: 64 20.3%
  • Dell

    Votes: 75 23.8%
  • Apple

    Votes: 32 10.2%
  • HP

    Votes: 53 16.8%
  • Asus

    Votes: 29 9.2%
  • Acer

    Votes: 25 7.9%
  • Microsoft

    Votes: 6 1.9%
  • MSI

    Votes: 9 2.9%
  • Mecer

    Votes: 2 0.6%
  • Other (please tell us what it is)

    Votes: 20 6.3%

  • Total voters
    315

diapason

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
2,109
Asus. Also keep a 9 year old HP as a backup which came in useful when the screen of a 3 1/2 year old Lenovo died and couldn't be replaced.
 

oldhat

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
4,401
Lenovo

Only sub R5000 laptop I could find with full hd 15.6" display, ssd and upgradable memory.
 

redarrow

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
2,371
Dell Inspiron 7359.

Only use it when traveling. I pretty much just wanted a "convertible", i.e., touch screen and can fold into table mode. Got it second hand, was just the best spec/price I could find at the time.
 

Jase

Executive Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
5,309
MSI. It stills runs well for a 4 year old laptop but aesthetically it has aged poorly.
 

kolaval

Expert Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
4,029
Bloody HP coming from a Fujitsu.
Now the most ports are on the right vs left, which ruined my desk setup.
 

ebendl

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
3,568
Apple, bought a 15" Macbook Pro 2018 model with 512GB SSD and 16GB brand new sealed in the box for R10k, so I can't complain. Even though I worry about the keyboard and the touchbar is stupid and I had to buy couple of R1000 worth of USB-C / Thunderbolt cables and docking stations and adapters.

My previous Macbook from 2015 is still practically as fast and battery life is still multiple hours a day, so I have good experiences. It's now the wife's. Didn't plan on upgrading but the opportunity to buy a R40k machine for R10k was too good to pass.

Was actually planning on switching to Windows but I guess not (I do use a VM for Windows-side stuff occasionally).

Also have an ASUS N53SV from 2010 running as a server at home. Wifi is shot but the rest is still running smoothly.
 
Top