Windows XP Stuck at 39min, help please.

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
hey can someone maybe give me some ideas as to why my windows install gets stuck at ether 39min or 34min,

I have just gotten a new Intel motherboard and a new Cpu,
I have formatted about 6 times now and still only get to 39/34min.
Windows 7 gets to where it needs to unpack and it gets stuck there.
My Hdd is my master IDE with my dvd(cable select) on the same cable because only have 1 Ide slot.

Got 2 sata drives also on cable select.
Have tried the shift f10 thing but nothing happens when I press it. (maybe pressing it at the wrong place don't know)

My windows disk works fine tried it on another pc.
My ram is working 100%
Can't remove my graphics card since the motherboard has no on board.

Cpu Pentium dual core 2.8ghz
Asus motherboard ASUS P5QL-SE
4gig Crosair Ram
2 sata hhd drives
1 IDE hhd (replaced with a new Sata drive)
1 Dvd drive
Gforce 8800 gts

Razor mouse Caused the problem.Removing it worked.
 
Last edited:

killadoob

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
46,571
Why are you installing windows on an ide drive when you have sata drives available?

Unplug all drives but the one you want to install windows on, could be the hdd is not nice, so try using another hdd.
 

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
I had problems with my old setup where I needed drives for my sata drives. So just left my IDE as master I am busy looking for a 2de hand Sata hhd to replace it.
All my backups are on the 2 sata drives.
Okay will unplug the rest quickly.
 

killadoob

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
46,571
Yup like i said you need another hdd too test because it could be the ide hdd giving trouble.

You could also try removing some memory and see maybe it is the cause.
 

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
Okay just changed my Dvd rom to master and my IDE HDD to cable select.

Also I was getting this display about the hhd and DVD drive and when I changed it only get the DVD display, so it seems that was telling me there is a problem with those 2 devices. (nothing in the manual about this bleh)

So just need to sort out my dvd drive some how and it should work.

Edit: Set HDD to master And DVD cable select-both don't work.
Edit: set HDD to cable select and DVD cable select-both not working.
Edit: Set Hdd To cable select and DVD slave- HDD not working Dvd working
Edit: Set hhd to master and DVD as slave still don't work.
Tnx for the ideas killadoob
 
Last edited:

wishblade

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
635
Hey - I noticed the only option that hasn't been tried yet is setting HDD to master and dvd to slave. In other words, not using cable select... Would it make a difference - I don't really think it would :D but it doesn't hurt to try...
 

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
Just got a new 500gig samsung Sata II hdd, Unplugged the other 2 hdd's removed the IDE hdd.
Format the hdd and again at 34min left in windows install it hangs the pc.
So what now?
What bios settings must I look for?
 

Stickfigure

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
9,336
Hmmm. I remember when I tried to install XP on my old 40gig IDE, it would hang at 39mins and on my 80gig IDE it would hand at 12 mins. My first guess would've been try installing it on a sata drive but I've see you've done that.
 

killadoob

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
46,571
Ok well you got further down the road, have you tried taking out some memory?

Run 2 gb memory and if that helps, can you test another dvd drive? Everything should be fine in the bios for it too get that far, you could try resetting the bios to default and see if that helps.
 

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
OKay just went trough some forums again and found that someone said they had a razor mouse that let this happen.

So I just Unplugged my mouse and it went further. YEAH FINALY :D

So conclusion if anybody else have this problem it can be a simple thing like your mouse that is causing the problem.
 

killadoob

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
46,571
OKay just went trough some forums again and found that someone said they had a razor mouse that let this happen.

So I just Unplugged my mouse and it went further. YEAH FINALY :D

So conclusion if anybody else have this problem it can be a simple thing like your mouse that is causing the problem.

Haha well at least you are using a sata drive for windows :)
 

CrzWaco

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,048
Haha well at least you are using a sata drive for windows
Makes A HUGE diffrence. :D

I spoke to soon now it seems to freeze on 7min left when finalizing windows install... will keep you up to date.

sjoe luckily after a restart it completed
Wolf in sheep's clothing that,

ag liewe donner nou fries hy in windows terwyl ek service pack 2 install.
Laaste keer wat ek intel gaan dis verseker.

Okay just reformatted again tried again to install windows and as soon as it got to saving settings it freezes again.
Could it be my power supply that not giving enough power? its a 500w power supply

Whats connected my GPU and 1 new HDD, dvd drive. 1 keyboard

Ag great now I have a BSOD: pnf-list-corrupt. stop-(0x4e: 0.0: 0.dff7f: 0.1)
 
Last edited:
Top