Wireless on HP Compaq NX 9110

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
637
Hi there

hope someone can help, i got the physical card (built in) to list the SSID as broadcasted by the Router/Modem, to start with i thought lets set the router/modem (netgear dg834G) to no encryption, so it is disabled, the SSID is also the same on router and laptop.

I am running Windows XP Pro, The wireless card is being reported as the Broadcom 802.11 b/g WLan

anyone got experience getting this to work ?

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
637
ok, update. My laptop is picking up the SSId as broadcasted by the Router, also if i make changes on the router this is picked up by the laptop, but the laptop is still saying wireless network unavailable. i am thinking maybe the laptop is not talking back or it is not understand what the router is saying other than understanding the initial hello this is who i am coming from the router,

Ideas please?

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
637
Problem solved, computer just wanted attention from someone else, buddie did basically exactly what i have done, and low and behold it worked...

i knew that old nickname i had had something to do with this.

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
637
they use to call me gremlin on irc, go figure that gremlins will be at work whenever i try something...

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

skuzzy

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Messages
2,184
i got a nx9110 and the wireless works perfect using a d-link extreme g access point


No pixels were harmed in the making of this post............. :)
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
637
ditto, once i got it working it is a charm now.

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

Mean_Monster

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
584
Mine also picks up the wireless networks but doesn't connect to it though. Also seems to have an issue connecting 2 nx9110 to each other. Might be Windows XP Service Pack 2 though. Must say that I haven't really spent time on this will check it out at the airport Hotspot. :)
 
Top