Wireless on HP Compaq NX 9110

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
630
#1
Hi there

hope someone can help, i got the physical card (built in) to list the SSID as broadcasted by the Router/Modem, to start with i thought lets set the router/modem (netgear dg834G) to no encryption, so it is disabled, the SSID is also the same on router and laptop.

I am running Windows XP Pro, The wireless card is being reported as the Broadcom 802.11 b/g WLan

anyone got experience getting this to work ?

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
630
#2
ok, update. My laptop is picking up the SSId as broadcasted by the Router, also if i make changes on the router this is picked up by the laptop, but the laptop is still saying wireless network unavailable. i am thinking maybe the laptop is not talking back or it is not understand what the router is saying other than understanding the initial hello this is who i am coming from the router,

Ideas please?

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
630
#3
Problem solved, computer just wanted attention from someone else, buddie did basically exactly what i have done, and low and behold it worked...

i knew that old nickname i had had something to do with this.

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
630
#5
they use to call me gremlin on irc, go figure that gremlins will be at work whenever i try something...

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

skuzzy

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Messages
2,182
#6
i got a nx9110 and the wireless works perfect using a d-link extreme g access point


No pixels were harmed in the making of this post............. :)
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
630
#7
ditto, once i got it working it is a charm now.

G

You Have The Obligation to Inform One Honestly of the risk, And As a Person
You Are Committed to Educate Yourself to the Total Risk In Any Activity!
Once Informed & Totally Aware of the Risk,
Every Fool Has the Right to Kill or Injure Themselves as They See Fit!
 

Mean_Monster

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
584
#8
Mine also picks up the wireless networks but doesn't connect to it though. Also seems to have an issue connecting 2 nx9110 to each other. Might be Windows XP Service Pack 2 though. Must say that I haven't really spent time on this will check it out at the airport Hotspot. :)
 
Top