You can't have ADSL - Even though it's as fast as ever

Thor

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
39,316
Won't happen any time soon.

ADSL is here to stay for the next decade to come.

FUD.
 

system32

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
3,131
I'm glad to have finally cancelled my dog slow, best-effort, up to 4Mbps, pay for 4Mbps sync at 2Mbps ADSL
FTFY.

ADSL can't get faster than the sync speed.
No amount of capacity on the back-haul is going to SNR due to attenuation resulting in low sync speeds.

No sure why customers pay for 4Mbps when they can only sync at 2Mbps.
 

Dylan_G

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
1,652
Won't happen any time soon.

ADSL is here to stay for the next decade to come.

FUD.
I also thought this but I was having a chat with two people at work who have had their ADSL cut... They now have to resort to Mobile Data.

It's real. It's happening.
 

RedViking

Nord of the South
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
25,103
Would like to see the article for the time when they phased out dial-up to implement ADSL.



MASSIVE DROP IN DIAL-UP USERS. DIAL-UP NOW FASTER THAN EVER.
 

Ipwn 4

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
1,730
If the copper don't get stolen
This, we have about 100 sites with dsl, if a line gets damaged or stolen in an outlying area Telkom refuses to fix. Massive pain in ass as those areas typically don't have fibre or LTE so replacement costs 5-10 times more than dsl
 

Hemps

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
10,120
Tempted to switch to LTE, paying over R809pm for 20Mb vdsl 400gb Vox
But see LTE is 100-200m out of my reach according to the maps
 

furpile

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
2,846
My ADSL is unfortunately just getting worse. Since my new line was installed last year the quality has been worse (not surprising, since the new cable was just thrown on top of plants, not even buried), there are more outages and more times when speeds are slow. Just 2 days ago the network was done for almost a day, and since then I only get 1-2 Mbps on my 4 Mbps line. Luckily my fibre line will hopefully be installed this Saturday, then I can get rid of Telkom.
 

Ipwn 4

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
1,730
Tempted to switch to LTE, paying over R809pm for 20Mb vdsl 400gb Vox
But see LTE is 100-200m out of my reach according to the maps
I would say don't cancel your DSL until you've tried LTE for at least a month
 

Hemps

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
10,120
I assume if there is no LTE it falls back to 3G?
Would be ideal for when we go to Wild coast for December Xmas holidays, kids can have Youtube to give parents a break.
 

Gtx Gaming

Gtx Gaming
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
18,090
I assume if there is no LTE it falls back to 3G?
Would be ideal for when we go to Wild coast for December Xmas holidays, kids can have Youtube to give parents a break.
Some telkom lte deals only work on LTE, the data can't be used on 3g.
 

Deandbn

Active Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
63
You can't have ADSL - Even though it's as fast as ever

Telkom recently announced that it is actively migrating customers from legacy copper technology to fibre and LTE-based solutions.

The company is moving customers to newer technologies in an effort to save maintenance costs on its ADSL network and offer customers a better service.
I don't understand why you would say that telkom is moving it's customers off ADSL. I think you mean to say that they are moving their customers off the copper carrier and onto fibre as a carrier. ADSL stands for asynchronous digital subscriber line and that is exactly what is used whether it be on copper or fibre. The asynchronous parts merely means that the download speed is greater than the upload speed. There is also DSL which is a digital subscriber line where the upload and download speed are the same. So whether the data is carried on copper all-fibre All Through the Air on radio it is still ADSL or DSL.
 

Swa

Honorary Master
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
23,828
G.fast can do 1Gbps. There's definitely still a need a need for DSL. Unfortunately we never got LLU and Telkom didn't maintain the network.
 
Top