2010 MyBroadband Awards: The winners and losers

The 2010 MyBroadband Award winners were announced today at the annual MyBroadband Conference held at Vodaworld, Midrand.

These awards are based on two surveys conducted by MyBroadband:

  1. The annual consumer trust survey where consumers rate the various broadband providers and ISPs according to how much they trust them.
  2. The 2010 Broadband Survey where consumers rate both their broadband connection and their ISP accounts according to speed, reliability, support and other factors.

The results give a good overview of the performance of the various broadband services and ISP accounts on offer, and further indicates how satisfied consumers are with their service providers.

The 2010 MyBroadband winners are:

  1. 2010 ISP of the Year: MWEB
  2. 2010 Mobile Broadband Service of the Year: Cell C 21 Mbps HSPA+
  3. 2010 Fixed Broadband Service of the Year: Telkom 10 Mbps ADSL
  4. 2010 Broadband Maverick of the Year: MWEB
  5. 2010 Broadband Provider of the Year: Vodacom

It is however not only the best performances in the broadband industry which are rewarded, but the company, individual or organization which held back progress in the local broadband market is ‘awarded’ with the ‘2010 Mampara of the Year’ award.

Consumers voted overwhelmingly that the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA) is the biggest ‘loser’ in the local broadband market. Considering the regulators’ poor performance in 2010 it is hardly surprising that ICASA is the 2010 Mampara of the Year.

The full Broadband Survey results will be released in early November.

2010 MyBroadband Awards: The winners and losers << Comments and views

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
2010 MyBroadband Awards: The winners and losers