How much the SABC’s top executives are paid

The SABC recently released its annual financial report for 2018, which detailed a poor set of results.

The SABC reported a loss of R622 million for the year ended 31 March 2018, which was an an improvement over its restated loss of R1 billion in the previous financial year.

This was despite a revenue figure of R6.6 billion.

According to SABC chairman Bongumusa Makhathini, the SABC board has implemented measures to stabilise the corporation and address “endemic levels of corruption and maladministration that have been prevalent at the SABC for many years”.

“Self-inflicted actions like the arbitrary 90-10 decision continue to impact on the SABC’s revenue,” he added.

Phumzile Van Damme, Shadow Minister of Communications for the DA, said the report “paints a grim picture about the state of the SABC’s financial affairs”.

Executive pay

As part of the annual report, the SABC is required to disclose the pay its executives receive.

The remuneration section of the report details pay to board members, senior management, and executive directors.

With the state broadcaster running at a big loss, and government bailouts said to be planned for the SABC, executive pay is understandably under the spotlight on a continual basis.

The SABC’s list of executives and senior management consists of over two dozen people, many of whom received over R1 million in total remuneration for the year.

The table below details the remuneration section of the SABC’s latest financial report, with individuals earning over R1 million included.

SABC Remuneration 2018
Person Position Remuneration
Philiso NP CFO R3.1 million
Tugwana BL Group Executive R2.9 million
Geldenhuys TV Group Executive R2.9 million
Mulaudzi T Group Executive R2.6 million
Motsweni SM Group Executive R2.5 million
Ralitabo TE Group Executive R2.5 million
Bayi LV Company Secretary R2.3 million
Kganyago MK Group Executive R1.9 million
Dlamini TS Acting CFO R1.5 million
Jiyane HM Acting Group Executive R1.5 million
Yunus Z Acting Group Executive R1.4 million
Mathebula SJ Acting Group Executive R1.3 million
Kweyama Khanyisile Thandiwe Board Member R1.3 million
Tsedu Mathatha Godfrey Board Member R1.2 million
Mosweu KE Acting Group Executive R1.1 million
Williams RV Acting Group Executive R1.1 million
Moilwa MP Acting Group Executive R1.1 million
Naidoo Krish Board Member R1 million
Matisonn Jonathan Board Member R1 million
Ramakgolo LE Acting Group Executive R1 million

Now read: Spree to become Superbalist

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
How much the SABC’s top executives are paid