Mcebisi Jonas replaces Phuthuma Nhleko as MTN Group Chair

MTN has announced that several of its board members officially stepped down from their positions on 15 December.

In an announcement to shareholders, the company confirmed that its chairman Phuthuma Nhleko has left his role.

MTN said that Nhleko oversaw the recent transition of the board, which included the establishment of an International Advisory Board.

MTN CEO Rob Shuter commended Nhleko’s “grit and determination” that saw MTN Group grow to one of Africa’s largest businesses.

The statement added that Nhleko thanked the directors for their contributions.

“He wished the entire MTN Group family the very best in continuing to etch a Pan African vision, and mentioned that there is still a lot to be achieved and celebrated in the future,” the announcement stated.

Nhleko has been replaced by former Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas.

Changes of directors

Several MTN Group directors also concluded their stints on the board on the same date.

These are Alan Harper, Jeff van Rooyen, and Koosum Kaylan.

Additionally, Khotso Mokhele has assumed the role of Lead Independent Director.

Jonas thanked the retiring directors for their contributions and dedication to the MTN Group.

Now read: MTN will vigorously defend itself against Competition Commission

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments


Share this article
Mcebisi Jonas replaces Phuthuma Nhleko as MTN Group Chair